Dan Sheridan/INPHO Josh van der Flier in possession for Ireland during last weekend's win over Italy.
The Green Party

Van der Flier, Carbery and Dillane not included in Ireland squad to face France

Joe Schmidt has named his squad for Saturday’s game.

A 34-MAN IRELAND squad will assemble at Carton House this week to prepare for Saturday’s Six Nations clash with France at the Aviva Stadium.

Head coach Joe Schmidt announced his panel of players this afternoon, but it doesn’t include the likes of Josh Van der Flier, Joey Carbery and Ultan Dillane.

After sustaining a shoulder injury, flanker Van der Flier lasted just 13 minutes of Leinster’s Guinness Pro12 win at home to Edinburgh on Friday night.

Carbery, returning from an ankle problem to play for the first time since December, impressed by scoring two tries but the 21-year-old out-half won’t be winning his fourth cap when the French visit Dublin this weekend.

Dillane played 63 minutes of Connacht’s victory over Newport Gwent Dragons last night but he has also been left out by Schmidt. It’s unclear if the lock picked up an injury.

Munster’s Ian Keatley and Andrew Conway are among those included, as is Leinster’s Dan Leavy, who was also among the tries against Edinburgh.

Ireland (v France)

Forwards (17)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster — captain)
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster)
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Con/Munster)
Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
CJ Stander (Munster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)

Backs (17)

Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Andrew Conway (Munster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Craig Gilroy (Bangor/Ulster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster)
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Tiernan O’Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

The late, late try that sent Munster back to the top of the Pro12 table

Rugby world in shock as former Australia star Dan Vickerman dies aged 37

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.