INPHO/James Crombie The Leinster loose head prop is part of Schimdt's squad.
# Selection
Leinster prop Jack McGrath included in Ireland training squad
Joe Schmidt names 42 players for Ireland training camp at Carton House at the end of the week.

NEW IRELAND COACH Joe Schmidt has named a 42-man training squad ahead of the Guinness Series in November.

The players will meet at Carton House on Sunday afternoon and Monday morning to start planning for the games against Samoa, Australia and New Zealand.

Among the more notable additions are Leinster prop Jack McGrath, Leicester Tigers wing Niall Morris and Leinster flanker Shane Jennings. Tom Court of Ulster is the most high-profile absentee.

Schmidt said, “Selection was difficult as it’s the first time we have had to narrow our focus a bit and determine a cut off point for players. A number of selections were very tight which is positive.”

The likes of Tommy O’Donnell, Michael Bent, Stuart Olding, Andrew Trimble, Craig Gilroy and Felix Jones were not considered for the squad due to injury but may still be involved in the autumn series depending on their recovery and return to action.

James Downey, Kieran Marmion and Jamie Hagan have been excluded despite touring North America with Ireland in June, but the exciting Connacht back Robbie Henshaw has been retained.

Schmidt claims to be pleased with the balance between experienced internationals and untested youngsters.

“The group is predominantly ‘tried and proven’ but with some newer faces as well. It’s an opportunity to get to know the players as well as an opportunity to have a look ahead and start to get a little bit of organization done for the Guinness Series.”

Ireland Training Squad (22-23 September): Stephen Archer (Munster),  Rory Best (Ulster), Isaac Boss (Leinster), Tommy Bowe (Ulster), James Coughlan (Munster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Shane Jennings (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Dave Kearney (Leinster), David Kilcoyne (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Kevin McLaughlin (Leinster), Niall Morris (Leicester Tigers), Conor Murray (Munster), Sean O’Brien (Leinster), Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster), Paul O’Connell (Munster), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92), Mike Sherry (Munster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Simon Zebo (Munster).

Manu Tuilagi ‘sorry’ for David Cameron bunny ears photo prank

Your Voice
Readers Comments