This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Thursday 28 May, 2020

Italy without captain Sergio Parisse for Six Nations visit to Dublin

Jacques Brunel has also changed his halfback pairing for the clash with Ireland.

There's no Parisse in the Italy team.
There's no Parisse in the Italy team.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

ITALY HEAD COACH Jacques Brunel has named his match day 23 to face Ireland, with No. 8 and captain Sergio Parisse a notable absentee.

The Stade Français back row has been rested ahead of the final round showdown with England in Rome on the 15th of March, with the FIR [Federazione Italiana Rugby] confirming that the move was “precautionary” as Parisse deals with a calf issue.

Blindside flanker Alessandro Zanni is another notable name to miss out.

The number eight jersey instead goes to Robert Barbieri of Benetton Treviso, in a back row that also includes Biarritz’s Joshua Furno and Paul Derbyshire of Treviso. Marco Bortolami captains the team from the second row, where he partners Quintin Geldenhuys.

Martin Castrogiovanni of Toulon makes up a strong front row alongside hooker Leonardo Ghiraldini and looshead prop Albert de Marchi.

There is a new halfback pairing for the Italians as Luciano Orquera and the Ospreys’ Tito Tebaldi replace Tommaso Allan and Edoardo Gori. Otherwise, the backline is unchanged from the home defeat to Scotland last time out.

There are a number of alterations on the replacements bench, with the powerful Manoa Vosawai and the experienced Andrea Masi amongst those ready to be sprung in the second half of the clash with Ireland.

Italy (v Ireland): Luke McLean; Angelo Esposito, Michele Campagnaro, Gonzalo Garcia, Leonardo Sarto; Luciano Orquera, Tito Tebaldi; Alberto de Marchi, Leonardo Ghiraldini, Martin Castrogiovanni; Quintin Geldenhuys, Marco Bortalami (capt.); Josh Furno, Paul Derbyshire, Robert Barbieri.

Replacements: Davide Giazzon, Michele Rizzo, Lorenzo Cittadini, Antonio Pavanello, Manoa Vosawai, Edoardo Gori, Tommaso Allan, Andrea Masi.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: