Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Sunday 11 April 2021

2013 Munster final man-of-the-match is back for another year with Limerick

James Ryan was originally omitted when the Limerick panel was announced last year.

Limerick's James Ryan.
Limerick's James Ryan.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

LIMERICK’S JAMES RYAN has returned to the senior hurling panel for 2017, according to the Limerick Leader.

The 2013 Munster winning player was initially omitted from the first panel which was announced in November 2016, to allow him some time to consider his inter-county future.

Under new manager John Kiely, Ryan has confirmed his commitment to the squad for 2017, while Kilmallock’s Robbie Egan has withdrawn from the panel for personal reasons.

Ryan, who made his senior inter-county debut in 2008, earned the man-of-the-match award in Limerick’s Munster final triumph over Cork in 2013.

The Garryspillane man’s return means that Paudie O’Brien and David Reidy are now the only players who were used during last year’s championship that are no longer involved.

The Limerick management now have a panel of 41 players.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Sexton and Heaslip included to face Montpellier but O’Brien absent for Leinster

Jack McCaffrey key to victory over Dublin as UCD take the spoils in O’Byrne Cup tie

About the author:

Read next: