Dublin: 11°C Saturday 13 August 2022

Joe Schmidt names Leinster team to face Ulster in Heineken Cup decider

Chill out Leinster fans, ’50-50′ shot Bran O’Driscoll will start.

Fergus McFadden: gets the nod.
Fergus McFadden: gets the nod.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

FERGUS MCFADDEN HAS been given the nod to start for Leinster in tomorrow’s Heineken Cup final against Ulster at Twickenham.

The Ireland international is named at 14 by Joe Schmidt, with Luke Fitzgerald sidelined.

Injury concern Brian O’Driscoll is also passed fit to play and will slot in next to Gordon D’Arcy.

Rob Kearney has also recovered from injury to take his place in the back three alongside McFadden and Isa Nacewa.

Skipper Leo Cullen starts at second row alongside Brad Thorn, with Kevin McLaughlin joining Ireland colleagues Jamie Heaslip and Sean O’Brien in the back row.

Cian Healy will trot out alongside Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross while Eoin Reddan and Jonathan Sexton make  up a familiar-looking half back pairing.

Leinster: R Kearney, F McFadden, B O’Driscoll, G D’Arcy, I Nacewa, J Sexton, E Reddan: C Healy, R Strauss, M Ross; L Cullen (capt), B Thorn, McLaughlin, S O’Brien, J Heaslip.

Replacements: S Cronin, H van der Merwe, N White, D Toner, S Jennings, I Boss, I Madigan, D Kearney.

The last time: Memories of Ulster’s Heineken Cup triumph

Sam Warburton close to Wales return

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

About the author:

Read next: