This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 8 °C Monday 6 April, 2020
Advertisement

Ken Doherty fumes after defeat: he 'turned up to play without his dicky bow on'

Ireland are dumped out in controversial fashion as Doherty bemoans lack of dress code violation penalty.

Ken Doherty: this isn't sour grapes.
Ken Doherty: this isn't sour grapes.
Image: PA

IRELAND ARE OUT of Snooker’s World Cup in Thailand – and Ken Doherty is not happy at all.

The former world champion and team-mate Fergal O’Brien were beaten 4-1 by China in the quarter-finals.

But Doherty was left fuming afterwards, insisting that Liang Wenbo should have been penalised for not wearing a neck tie at the start of his meeting with O’Brien.

Doherty said: ‘Liang turned up to play without his dicky bow on in the second frame and that’s a dress-code violation.

‘The referee didn’t realise it at first and Liang just gets a letter and fine for a dress code violation, but he should’ve been docked a frame. If you play in one of the biggest tournaments, which this is, every advantage does make a difference.

‘I’m not saying it would have had a big bearing on the match and it’s not sour grapes, but if they got docked a frame you never know what would’ve happened.

‘It would have made it 1-1 and swung the frame to our advantage.  Waistcoat, dicky-bow, they’re all part of the dress code. It makes it easier on the neck to not wear it and there’s no strain on your neck.

“If you play in the final of the World Championship and take your bow tie off in the last frame you’ll have a better chance and all you’ll get is a letter or £250 fine – I know what I would rather have.”

Mark Williams disagreed with Doherty’s assessment however: ‘I’m one of those who think we shouldn’t wear bow ties and I don’t see how you can say you should get a frame deducted for not wearing a bow tie. The ref should’ve told him and that was it.’

A world snooker official said there was nothing in the rules stating a frame should have been given to Ireland.

Read more at World Snooker>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Read next:

COMMENTS (8)