Sean Óg, Dan, DJ and Donal Óg amongst hurling stars to play in Ken McGrath benefit match

The charity match takes place in Walsh Park this Friday night.

Sean Óg Ó hAilpín and Dan Shanahan will be teammates in the Munster setup. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

A HOST OF inter-county hurling stars will be in action in Friday night’s All Star challenge match in aid of Waterford hurling legend Ken McGrath as he continues his recovery from a serious heart operation.

Throw-in takes place at 7.30pm in Walsh Park for a game that will see a Munster selection managed by Davy Fitzgerald taking on a Leinster selection managed by Brian Cody.

There’s 69 All-Ireland senior hurling medals won accumulatively by the players that are in action and there’s 26 Allstar winners with 71 awards garnered between them.

Sean Óg Ó hAilpín, Niall Gilligan, Donal Óg Cusack, Ollie Moran, Dan Shanahan, Tony Browne, Brendan Cummins, John Gardiner and Paul Flynn are amongst the standout names in the Munster setup.

DJ Carey, Ollie Canning, Eddie Brennan, Damien Fitzhenry, Michael Kavanagh and Diarmuid Lyng are some of the star names in the Leinster squad.

Tickets are available at a price of €10 on the night of the match.

Here’s the full Munster and Leinster panels for Friday night’s game:


Clare - Fergal Lynch, Niall Gilligan.

Cork - Brian Murphy, Diarmuid O’Sullivan, Donal Óg Cusack, Joe Deane, John Gardiner, Sean Óg Ó hAilpín, Tom Kenny.

Limerick - Donie Ryan, Mark Foley, Mike O’Brien, Niall Moran, Ollie Moran.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Tipperary - Benny Dunne, Brendan Cummins, Brian O’Meara, Eamonn Corcoran.

Waterford - Brian Phelan, Clinton Hennessy, Dan Shanahan, Declan Prendergast,
Eoin Kelly, Eoin McGrath, Eoin Murphy, John Mullane, Paul Flynn, Tom Feeney, Tony Browne.

Tony Browne celebrates with John Mullane Waterford's Tony Browne and John Mullane celebrate after the 2010 Munster final replay win. Source: Cathal Noonan


Dublin - Liam Ryan, Ronan Fallon.

Galway - Kevin Broderick, Ollie Canning, Tony Óg Regan.

Kilkenny - James Cha Fitzpatrick, DJ Carey, Eddie Brennan, John Tennyson, Martin Comerford, Michael Kavanagh, Noel Hickey, Paddy Mullally, Pat Tennyson.

Laois - Darren Rooney, James Young.

Offaly - Brendan Murphy, David Franks, Derek Molloy, Ger Oakley, Simon Whelehan.

Wexford - Damien Fitzhenry, Declan Ruth, Diarmuid Lyng, Eoin Quigley, Garry Laffan.

Damien Fitzhenry Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Ken McGrath felt like he’d been ‘hit by a bus’ after surgery but he’s on the road to recovery

How good a hurler was Waterford’s Ken McGrath? Browne, Mullane and Hartley reveal all

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: