Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 20 April 2021

Kerry secure famous hurling win against Antrim to clinch promotion to Division 1B

John Egan was the match winner at Parnell Park.

Kerry 2-16
Antrim 1-18

JOHN EGAN’S LATE point clinched a famous victory for the Kerry hurlers today as they clinched promotion to Division 1B of the Allianz league next year with a playoff win over Antrim at Parnell Park.

Kerry trailed by 0-11 to 0-3 at the interval but powered back into contention in the second-half with Colm Harty bagging two goals before Egan raised the white flag to clinch glory.

It was a memorable day for Kerry hurling. Kerry had finished top or joint top of Division 2A for three seasons running but had consistently failed to gain promotion until now. They saw off Westmeath in last Saturday’s Division 2A hurling league final and then followed it up with a splendid victory today.

They remained on long odds coming to Parnell Park to face Antrim as Division 2A champions and were eight points down at half-time having played into the wind.

Kerry coped well with the conditions early on and Antrim led by just 0-4 to 0-2 after 20 minutes. But four frees in a row from Paul Shiels put significant daylight between the sides.

John Egan in action against Odhran McFadden Kerry's John Egan in action against Antrim's Odhran McFadden Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO

Kerry utilised the breeze after half-time with points from Patrick Kelly, Shane Nolan and John Griffin. Antrim points from Shiels and sub Conor Johnson stemmed the Kingdom tide momentarily but the Kingdom then fired 1-2 including a fine 46th minute Harty solo goal to leave just two in it with Antrim 0-13 to 1-8 ahead.

Antrim responded with PJ O’Connell netting but Harty’s second goal of the game for Kerry when he bundled home from close range after a defensive mistake left three in it.

In an exciting finale the teams were level three times but as extra-time loomed, substitute Egan stepped in to fire over the match-winning score.

Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: Shane Nolan 0-8 (0-5f), Colm Harty 2-0, Michael O’Leary 0-4, Daniel Collins, John Griffin, Patrick Kelly, John Egan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Antrim: Paul Shiels 0-7 (0-7f), PJ O’Connell 1-2, Ciarán Clarke 0-3 (0-1f), Neal McManus, Matthew Donnelly, Neal McAuley, Michael Bradley, Ciarán Johnson, Michael Dudley 0-1 each.

Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO


1. Stephen Murphy (Causeway)

2. Dougie Fitzell (Kilmoyley)
3. Paud Costelloe (Ballyduff)
4. Bryan Murphy (Causeway)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. Sean Weir (Crotta O’Neills)
6. Darren Dineen (St Brendan’s)
7. Daniel Collins (Kilmoyley)
8. John Griffin (Lixnaw – captain)
9. Patrick Kelly (Clarecastle – Clare)

12. Colm Harty (Causeway)
11. Shane Nolan (Crotta O’Neills)
10. Michael O’Leary (Abbeydorney)

13. Mikey Boyle (Ballyduff)
14. Padraig Boyle (Ballyduff)
15. Keith Carmody (Causeway)

18. John Egan (St Brendan’s) for Carmody
19. James Flaherty (Lixnaw) for P Boyle

Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO


1. Chris O’Connell (Loughgiel Shamrocks)

2. Odhran McFadden (Loughgiel Shamrocks)
3. Neal McAuley (Ballycastle)
4. Aaron Graffin (Cushendall)

18. Eoin McAlonan (Ballycastle)
6. Neil McManus (Cushendall)
5. Conor McKinley (Dunloy)

8. Eoghan Campbell (Cushendall)
9. Michael Bradley (St John’s)

12. Paul Shiels (Dunloy)
11. Conor Carson (Cushendall)
10. Daniel McKernan (Patrick Sarsfields)

15. PJ O’Connell (Clooney Gaels)
14. Matthew Donnelly (Ballycastle)
13. Ciarán Clarke (Ballycastle)

20. Ciarán Johnson (St John’s) for McAlonan
21. Michael Dudley (St John’s) for Carson
22. Darren Hamill (Shane O’Neills) for Bradley.

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny).

Kerry’s PS Chorca Dhuibhne retain Hogan Cup crown after victory over Roscommon CBS

Carlow’s St Mary’s CBS lift Drummond Cup title with win against Tipperary’s Abbey CBS

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: