This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Monday 17 December, 2018

Donaghy goal propels Kerry past Galway and into All-Ireland semi-final clash

The Munster champions had eight points to spare in Croke Park.

Kieran Donaghy scores his sides opening goal past goalkeeper Bernard Power Kieran Donaghy fires home Kerry's opening goal. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Kerry 1-18
Galway 0-13

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

A ROUTINE AFTERNOON’S work for the Munster champions at Croke Park as Kerry ploughed forward in the 2017 championship to book an All-Ireland semi-final place.

Kieran Donaghy raised the only green flag of the game early to provide Kerry with a cushion on the scoreboard and they had an array of point takers capable of taking them clear any time Galway threatened to rally.

The Kerry goal arrived in the 13th minute courtesy of a traditional tactic. David Moran pumped the ball in long and despite having two Galway defenders for company, Donaghy fielded the delivery and finished to the net with aplomb off his left.

Donaghy caused chaos during that first half for the Galway defence while Paul Geaney was in sharp form alongside him as he picked off three points from play in that first half.

With David Moran, Paul Murphy and Johnny Buckley all some of the game’s most dominant performers, Kerry were in control as they went 1-9 to 0-5 clear by the 32nd minute. Galway rallied well to score three of the last four points of the first half but they were forced to rue the spurning of two goal chances.

David Moran with Damien Comer and Paul Conroy Kerry's David Moran breaks through the Galway challenges. Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Ian Burke saw an early piledriver tipped over the bar by Kerry’s excellent netminder Brian Kelly before Damien Comer’s shot was cleared off the line late in the opening period by Fionn Fitzgerald, Galway recycling the ball for Burke to point.

Galway trailed 1-10 to 0-8 at the interval and though they performed brightly in the third quarter with Burke and Armstrong both threatening from open play, they needed to raise a green flag. Kelly thwarted Galway again early in the second half, producing a fine save to deny Armstrong.

The Salthill-Knocknacarra man lobbed over a fine point off his left in the 52nd minute to leave Galway trailing 1-12 to 0-11 by the 52nd minute.

However Kerry outscored Galway by 0-6 to 0-2 in the finale as they closed out the game successfully and wheeled scoring options off the bench in Barry John Keane, Stephen O’Brien and Jack Savage to help the Kingdom reach a fifth consecutive All-Ireland semi-final.

Scorers for Kerry: Paul Geaney 0-4 (0-1f), Kieran Donaghy 1-1, David Moran, Paul Murphy, Barry John Keane, Stephen O’Brien, Johnny Buckley 0-2 each, Donnacha Walsh, James O’Donoghue (0-1f), Jack Savage 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Ian Burke 0-5 (0-1f), Sean Armstrong 0-4 (0-1f), Johnny Heaney, Michael Daly, Shane Walsh (0-1f), Eamonn Brannigan 0-1 each.


1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels-Foilmore)
2. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
4. Shane Enright (Tarbert)

7. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
5. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
9. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)

10. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
11. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes – captain)
12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)

13. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
14. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)


18. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare) for Michael Geaney (39)
20. Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahillys) for O’Donoghue (48)
17. Anthony Maher (Duagh) for Barry (54)
21. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Donaghy (57)
22. Killian Young (Renard) for Morley (63)


1. Bernard Power (Corofin)

2. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)
22. David Walsh (Kilannin)
3. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)

5. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
6. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
7. Liam Silke (Corofin)

8. Paul Conroy (St James’)
10. Tom Flynn (Athenry)

9. Johnny Heaney (Killannin)
11. Micheal Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)
13. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)

15. Sean Armstrong (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
12. Ian Burke (Corofin)
14. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)


4. Cathal Sweeney (Killanin) for David Walsh (38)
23. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michael’s) for Shane Walsh (44)
19. Michael Farragher (Corofin) for Bradshaw (52)
21. Fiontán Ó Curraoin (Mícheál Breathnach) for Daly (57)
18. Cillian McDaid (Monivea-Abbey) for Flynn (63)

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘I’m very thankful for all the help’ – The Rossies and a football passion after battling cancer

‘Kieran spent more time going around to the Kildare lads to commiserate than celebrating’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel