Monday 30 January 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Morgan Treacy/INPHO Kerry boss Jack O'Connor.
# Kingdom Talent
Clare include 4 of last year's team to face Kerry in Munster minor opener
Kerry face Clare on Wednesday night.

THE CLARE TEAM to face Kerry in Wednesday’s Electric Ireland Munster minor football quarter-final features four players who lined out against the Kingdom last year.

Pearse Lillis, Conor Downes, Niall McCarthy and captain Keelan Sexton have all been named to start.

Downes was in an injury concern but is included in the starting line-up, with Einne O’Connor and Sean Malone left out because of injury.

Kerry boss Jack O’Connor has called on three players from the PS Chorca Dhuibhne team that won the Hogan Cup at the weekend for the fixture.

Corner-back Tom O’Sullivan (whose namesake was on the Kerry minor team last year), midfielder Mark O’Connor and corner-forward Conor Geaney all triumphed in Croke Park in Saturday’s final.

O’Connor will captain the Kerry minor team this year and is the only survivor from the side that started in last September’s All-Ireland triumph over Donegal.

Full-back Jason Foley and corner-forward Stephen O’Sullivan were both substitutes last year while Andrew Barry – centre back on the 2014 side – is unavailable due to injury.

Marc O'Conchuir and Brian O'Beaglaoich lift the trophy Ryan Byrne / INPHO Mark O'Connor (left) was joint-captain of the winning PS Chorca Dhuibhne team on Saturday Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO


1. Killian Roche (Cooraclare)

2. Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare)
3. Niall McCarthy (Lissycasey)
4. Kieran Killeen (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)

5. Conor Downes (Naomh Eoin)
6. Killian Burke (Cooraclare)
7. Colm Pyne (Killimer)

8. Killian Brennan (Clondegad)
9. Sean O’Donoghue (Cooraclare)

10. Conor O’Halloran (Éire Óg)
11. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)
12. Padraig McNamara (Lissycasey)

13. Alan Sweeney (St Breckan’s)
14. Nigel Murray (O’Curry’s)
15. Cormac Murray (St Joseph’s Milltown)


1. Billy Courtney (Dr. Crokes)

2. Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

5. Gavin White (Dr. Crokes)
6. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Mark O’Connor (Capt.) (Dingle)
9. John Mark Foley (Kilgarvan)

10. Brian Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)
11. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets)
12. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)

13. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe)
14. Cormac Linnane (Beale)
15. Conor Geaney (Dingle)

16. Eoghan O’Brien (Churchill)
17. Dara O’Shea (Kenmare)
18. Evan Cronin (Spa)
19. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)
20. Ronan Buckley (Listry)
21. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)
22. Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks)
23. Michael Foley (Spa)
24. Jack Goulding Ballyduff)

Extended Panel
Darren Casey (St. Mary’s)
Micheal Foley (Ballydonoghue)
Mark Sugrue (Renard)
Colin Griffin (Austin Stacks)
Cian Ó Murchú (An Ghaeltacht)
Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
Ferdia O’Brien (Austin Stacks)
Micheal Reidy (Ballymacelligott)
Karl Mullins (Kerins O’Rahillys)

Tipp and Waterford name teams for Munster minor clash

Antrim hurlers defend manager, accept full blame for relegation