Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 4°C
# They'll Meet Again
Durcan rescues a draw for Mayo against Kerry in All-Ireland semi-final thriller
The replay will take place next Saturday.

Paddy Durcan celebrates scoring the equalising point to force a replay Ryan Byrne / INPHO Paddy Durcan celebrates scoring the equalising point. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Kerry 2-14
Mayo 2-14

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

PADDY DURCAN PROVED Mayo’s hero as his injury-time point salvaged a draw against Kerry in Croke Park today and ensured a replay will be required for this All-Ireland semi-final tie.

Kerry had one late chance to win it but Bryan Sheehan’s tricky long-range free from distance dropped short and Mayo cleared their lines before the final whistle sounded soon after.

Mayo’s marathon summer continues after a game where they netted twice in the first half courtesy of Andy Moran in the 4th minute and Colm Boyle in the 19th minute.

Kerry’s defence was prised apart regularly in the opening stages with Moran finishing superbly to the net in front of Hill 16 while Boyle scythed through for their second goal.

Mayo nearly bagged a third goal in the 23rd minute but Moran and Cillian O’Connor were denied as the ball bounced around the Kerry goalmouth before Moran’s shot was deflected over the bar.

Kieran Donaghy celebrates his side's goal beside Aidan O'Shea Ryan Byrne / INPHO Kieran Donaghy in action against Aidan O'Shea. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

But Kerry were level at the break, 2-5 to 1-8, with Stephen O’Brien raising their green flag in the 13th minute after being released into space by Kieran Donaghy. They reeled Mayo in during the closing stages of the first half as Paul Geaney and James O’Donoghue picked off points from frees.

Geaney landed the opening point of the second half but then Mayo began to play at an increased tempo with Moran, Donal Vaughan, O’Connor and Tom Parsons notching the points that pushed them three clear.

But then Kerry pounced for their second goal in the 45th minute. David Clarke produced a splendid save to deny David Moran yet Kerry’s captain Johnny Buckley rushed in to net the rebound.

That score brought the teams level at 2-9 apiece and the action ebbed and flowed from there until the final whistle. The teams were level on five further occasions with Kerry going in front four times and Mayo ahead just the once after Cillian O’Connor’s 61st minute point.

Andy Moran scores his sides opening goal despite Johnny Buckley James Crombie / INPHO Andy Moran fires home Mayo's first goal. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Barry John Keane swivelled onto his left to bring Kerry level before Paul Murphy looked to have grabbed a priceless winning point for Kerry in the 69th minute.

But Mayo finally found their range in injury-time through Durcan and ensured round two will take place next Saturday afternoon.

Scorers for Kerry: Paul Geaney 0-7 (0-4f), Johnny Buckley, Stephen O’Brien 1-0 each, James O’Donoghue 0-3 (0-2f), Killian Young, Paul Murphy, Kieran Donaghy, Barry John Keane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mayo: Andy Moran 1-5, Cillian O’Connor 0-4 (0-1f), Colm Boyle 1-0, Tom Parsons 0-2, Donal Vaughan, Jason Doherty, Paddy Durcan 0-1 each.


1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

2. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels-Foilmore)
4. Killian Young (Renard)

5. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
7. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
9. Anthony Maher (Duagh)

10. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
11. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes – captain)
12. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare Shamrocks)

13. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
14. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)


21. Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahilly’s) for Michael Geaney (22)
17. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil) for Maher (half-time)
20. Jonathan Lyne (Legion) for Griffin (half-time)
22. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar) for Buckley (54)
19. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahilly’s) for O’Donoghue (61)
25. Bryan Sheehan (St Mary’s) for Donaghy (72)


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

6. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)

7. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
3. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber – captain)
13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)


18. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels) for Boyle (43)
19. Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore) for Seamus O’Shea (59)
20. David Drake (Ballaghaderreen) for Diarmuid O’Connor (68)
23. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina) for Doherty (73)

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

1-10 for David Clifford as Kerry’s All-Ireland minor four-in-a-row bid stays on track

Confirmed: Kerry v Mayo replay will take place in Croke Park


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel