This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Sunday 24 March, 2019

Clifford and O'Sullivan star as Kerry cruise to 24-point Munster minor final win

The reigning champions marched on in style in Killarney.

Kerry captain David Clifford in action against Clare's Sean Rouine.
Kerry captain David Clifford in action against Clare's Sean Rouine.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Kerry 2-21
Clare 0-3

Fintan O’Toole reports from Fitzgerald Stadium

THERE IS NO sign of Kerry’s minor production line slowing down as they turned on the style in today’s curtain-raiser in Killarney to claim another Munster crown at this level.

Clare had no answer to the Kingdom who were ahead by 0-10 to 0-2 at the break with captain and shining light David Clifford pointing the way as he bagged 0-6 in a sparkling showing.

After the interval Donal O’Sullivan took up the mantle in the Kerry attack with his assured point-taking and grabbing a pair of goals near the finish as he seized long deliveries before finishing to the net twice in injury-time.

Dermot Coughlan and Diarmuid Ryan tried hard for Clare but they struggled for scores against a Kerry defence where Sean O’Leary and Chris O’Donoghue stood out.

Barry Mahony and Diarmuid O’Connor gave Kerry a strong platform at midfield with Fiachra Clifford and Donal O’Sullivan also chipping in with a brace of points apiece up front.

Kerry’s shooting was extremely poor in the first-half as they struck nine wides and were only in front 0-4 to 0-1 after 20 minutes.

But Clifford turned on the style before the break and it was one-way traffic after that as the reigning champions stormed into the All-Ireland series in a confident fashion.

Scorers for Kerry: Donal O’Sullivan 2-8 (0-4f),David Clifford 0-6, Fiachra Clifford, Donnchadh O’Sullivan 0-2 each, Brian Friel, Jack Griffin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Dermot Coughlan 0-2 (0-2f), Diarmuid Ryan 0-1.


1. Deividas Uosis (Dingle)

2. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin)
3. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
4. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion)

5. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)
6. Eddie Horan (Scartaglen)
7. Niall Donohue (Firies)

8. Barry Mahony (St Senans)
9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

10. Adam Donoghue (Castleisland Desmonds)
15. Brian Friel (Rathmore)
13. Fiachra Clifford (Laune Rangers)

14. Donchadh O’Sullivan (Firies)
11. David Clifford (Fossa – captain)
12. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)


21. Jack Griffin (Dr Crokes) for Friel (43)
22. Michael O’Leary (Renard) for Gammell (46)
19. Patrick Warren (Gneeveguilla) for David Clifford (inj) (49)
18. Ciaran O’Reilly (Austin Stacks) for Donnchadh O’Sullivan (52)
17. Ryan O’Neill (Na Gaeil) for Donohue (53)
23. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks) for O’Leary (55)


1. Mark Lillis (Cooraclare)

2. Jack Sheedy (St Breckan’s)
3. Jayme O’Sullivan (Wolfe Tones)
4. Joe Miniter (Kilrush)

5. Sean Rouine (Ennistymon)
6. Fergal Donnellan (Cooraclare)
7. Colin McNelis (Clondegad)

8. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)
9. Keith White (Inagh-Kilnamona)

10. Ross Phelan (Kilrush)
11. Dermot Coughlan (Kilmurry/Ibrickane – captain)
12. Ross O’Doherty (Ennistymon)

13. Gearoid Cahill (Corofin)
14. Gavin Cooney (Eire Og)
15. Rian Considine (Cratloe)


18. Ciaran O’Donoghue (Cooraclare) for Considine (half-time)
17. Danny Griffin (Eire Og) for White (40)
22. Colm O’Brien (St Breckan’s) for Cahill (42)
19. Conor McMahon (Cratloe) for Phelan (45)
21. Seamus Casey (Kildysart) for Rouine (51)

Referee: David Murnane (Cork)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘We’ve so much work put into this, it’s off the charts. It’s very hard to take.’

Cork’s football captain takes centre stage – ‘He’s got that fire about him’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: