Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Wednesday 30 September 2020

Kerry name three changes while Kildare make one adjustment for final Super 8s showdown

Defender Killian Young is among the changes to the Kerry team for their clash with Kildare.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Updated Aug 3rd 2018, 11:45 PM

ÉAMONN FITZMAURICE HAS made three changes to his Kerry team for their final Super 8s clash against Kildare as they go in search of a place in the All-Ireland SFC semi-finals.

Killian Young returns to the starting line-up from suspension and is named to take his place at centre-back. He was issued a red card in Kerry’s opening Super 8s defeat to Galway at Croke Park.

Peter Crowley moves to full-back as Mark Griffin makes way while Jason Foley replaces Ronan Shanahan at corner-back.

Micheál Burns joins the Kerry attack in place of Kevin McCarthy who drops to the bench, while James O’Donoghue is named among the substitutes for the Saturday fixture [Throw-in, 6pm].

Kerry host the Lilywhites at Fitzgerald Stadium where they will need a win to strengthen their chances of qualifying for the last-four. They will also need Galway to beat Monaghan at which point their future in the All-Ireland championship will come down to score difference, which currently stands at Kerry (-3) and Monaghan (+2).

Meanwhile, Kildare boss Cian O’Neill has opted to make just one adjustment in personnel for what will be a dead rubber tie for Kildare.

Niall Kelly has been selected to start in place of the suspended Daniel Flynn, who was issued a red card in the Lilywhite’s defeat to Galway which ended their hopes of progressing out of the Super 8s.

Earlier this week, the GAA’s Central Hearings Committee (CHC) upheld the one-game ban imposed on the Kildare forward.


1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

2. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
3. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
6. Killian Young (Renard)
7. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
9. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)

10. Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes)
11. Seán O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)

13. David Clifford (Fossa)
14. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
15. Paul Geaney (Dingle0

16. Shane Murphy (Dr Crokes)
17. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
18. Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin)
19. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)
20. Brian Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht)
21. Anthony Maher (Duagh)
22. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)
23. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
24. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
25. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
26. Dáithí Casey (Dr Crokes)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)

5. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
6. Eoin Doyle (Naas – captain)
7. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
12. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

13. Neil Flynn (Maynooth)
14. Niall Kelly (Athy)
15. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel