Okunbor set for debut as Jack O'Connor names star-studded side on his third coming

The Kingdom face Limerick in the McGrath Cup tonight.

Kerry's Stefan Okunbor.
Kerry's Stefan Okunbor.
Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

JACK O’CONNOR HAS named a strong Kerry team for tonight’s McGrath Cup opener against Limerick at 7pm in Austin Stack Park.

The Kingdom are without their Austin Stacks contingent, while Covid and injuries have also come into play.

But O’Connor first XV of 2022 includes Clifford brothers David and Paudie, with Dara Moynihan, Stephen O’Brien, Killian Spillane and Paul Geaney all starting in a star-studded attack. 

Shane Murphy gets the nod in goals after his return to the panel and Stefan Okunbuor will make his first senior start after his return from the AFL last year.

The Kingdom will wear blue jerseys and they’ll be captained by David Clifford.

The Limerick team includes Kerry native Pádraig De Brún on the half-forward line, while experienced stopper Donal O’Sullivan captains the side.


1. Shane Murphy (Dr Crokes)

2 Dan O Donoghue (Spa), 3 Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), 4 Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5 Pa Warren (Gneeveguilla), 6 Mike Breen (Beaufort), 7 Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)

8 Stefan Okunbor (Na Gaeil), 9 Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)

10 Dara Moynihan (Spa), 11 Paudie Clifford (Fossa), 12 Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare Shamrocks)

13 Killian Spillane (Templenoe), 14 David Clifford (Fossa), 15 Paul Geaney (Dingle)


16 Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

17 Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes)

18 Brian Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht)

19 Sean O Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks)

20 Michael Burns (Dr Crokes)

21 Jack Savage (Kerins O Rahillys)

22 Paul O Shea (Kilcummin)

23 Dara Roche (Glenflesk)

24 Cian Gammel (Killarney Legion)


1 Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen) (Captain)

2 Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins), 3 Luke Murphy (Monaleen), 4 Maurice O’Sullivan (Galtee Gaels)

5 Tony McCarthy (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), 6 Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford), 7 Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins)

8 Darragh Tracey (St.Kieran’s), 9 Adrian Enright (Fr. Casey’s)

10 Pádraig De Brún (Firies), 11 James Naughton (St. Senans), 12 Dara Noonan (Gerald Griffins)

13 Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), 14 Robbie Bourke (Adare), 15 Hugh Bourke (Adare)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


16 Aaron O’Sullivan ( Pallasgreen)

17 Eoghan Sherlock ( Na Piarsaigh)

18 Liam O’Sullivan (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

19 Diarmaid Kelly (Newcastlewest)

20 Barry Coleman ( Rathkeale)

21 Rory O’Brien (Fr. Caseys)

22 John Hayes (St. Kieran’s)

23 Shane Barry (Mungret St. Paul’s)

24 Darragh Ranahan (Ballysteen)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel