Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Tuesday 20 April 2021

2012 champions Kilcormac-Killoughey back in Leinster senior club hurling final

The Offaly side saw off Westmeath’s Raharney today.

Kilcormac-Killoughey triumphed today.
Kilcormac-Killoughey triumphed today.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Kilcormac-Killoughey 1-13
Raharney 1-8

KILCORMAC-KILLOUGHEY SURVIVED an almighty scare to win a gripping Leinster senior club hurling semi-final in Mullingar.

Raharney summoned a brave performance, but Kilcormac-Killoughey struck 1-4 without reply in the last five minutes to book a place in the provincial decider. An error strewn if hugely exciting first half eventually ended with the teams departing level as underdogs Raharney snapped throughout.

Ciaran Slevin rifled over two early points for Kilcormac-Killoughey, but Raharney responded as John Shaw raised a white flag before a dramatic 10th minute goal. Shaw’s delivery caused panic and Ciaran Doyle reacted smartly to flick the sliotar to the back of the Kilcormac-Killoughey net.

Five of the next six points were scored by Kilcormac-Killoughey with Slevin prominent, but Raharney concluded the opening period impressively. Twins Ciaran and Killian Doyle both struck points to ensure the issue was delicately poised at the interval.


It was similarly frenetic after the restart as two outrageous Killian Doyle efforts helped Raharney into a 1-7 to 0-8 advantage with 12 minutes remaining.

But Kilcormac-Killoughey continued to battle and were back on terms with five minutes left on the clock courtesy of scores from Slevin (2) and Cillian Kiely.

Slevin continued to rifle over frees and Dan Currams sealed the deal with an injury time goal as Kilcormac-Killoughey survived.

Scorers for Kilcormac-Killoughey:
Ciaran Slevin 0-9 (6fs), Dan Currams 1-0, Cillian Kiely 0-2, Brian Leonard 0-1, Peter Geraghty 0-1 (sideline)

Scorers for Raharney:
Ciaran Doyle 1-3 (1f), Killian Doyle 0-3 (1f), Joey Boyle 0-1, John Shaw 0-1.

Ciaran Slevin Kilcormac-Killoughey's Ciaran Slevin. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1 Conor Slevin

2 Con Mahon
3 Ger Healion
4 Alan McConville

5 Kevin Grogan
6 Peter Healion
7 Brian Leonard

8 Damien Kilmartin
9 Killian Leonard

10 Ciaran Slevin
11 Conor Mahon
12 Cillian Kiely

13 James Gorman
14 Dan Currams
15 Peter Geraghty

Subs: 26 Thomas Geraghty for Gorman (40 mins)


1 Andrew Doyle

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2 Tony Doyle
3 Conor Jordan
4 Darren Giles

5 Gary Greville
6 Paul Greville
7 Adam Shiels

8 Niall Flanagan
9 Cormac Boyle

10 Joey Boyle
11 Killian Doyle
12 Robbie Greville

13 Ciaran Doyle
14 Brian Smyth
15 John Shaw

Subs: 17 Chris Flanagan for T Doyle (35 mins)
18 Frank Boyle for Smyth (39 mins)
19 Brian Connaughton for Flanagan (48 mins)

Referee: David Hughes (Carlow)

Perfect 10 from TJ Reid gives Ballyhale another Kilkenny senior hurling title

Read next: