This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 11 December, 2018

Kilcormac/Killoughey seal 3rd Leinster final in 6 years but injury and suspension worries loom

The Offaly champions will face Cuala in the final.

Image: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Kilcormac Killoughey 2-21

Mount Leinster Rangers 0-10

KILCORMAC/KILLOUGHEY ARE back into their first Leinster club SHC final since 2014 after clinically disposing of Mount Leinster Rangers in their last four clash today.

The Offaly side will take on reigning Leinster and All-Ireland champions Cuala in the decider on 3 December at a venue that has yet to be confirmed.

Kilcormac/Klloughey won the provincial title for the only time in their history back in 2012, during a run that would take them all the way to the All-Ireland final the following March.

James Gorman fired in 1-5 during today’s victory in Bord na Mona O’Connor Park in Tullamore, while Dan Currams hit 1-3 during the comfortable 17-point victory.

On a sour note, Offaly defender Cillian Kiely was sent-off for the winners during the first-half, while they lost experienced full-forward Peter Healion to injury.

Kilcormac/Klloughey led by 1-8 to 0-4 at the interval but a goal from Currams on 41 minutes ended the game as a contest. Mount Leinster Rangers lost David Phelan to a red card shortly after that goal and Kilcormac/Klloughey coasted to victory.

Scorers for Kilcormac/Killoughey: James Gorman 1-5, Daniel Currams 1-3, Ciaran Slevin 0-5 (five frees),  Conor Mahon 0-3, Peter Geraghty 0-2, Stephen Leonard, Thomas Geraghty and Cillian Kiely 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mount Leinster Rangers: Chris Nolan 0-4 (two frees), Diarmuid Byrne 0-2 (one free),  Ted Joyce, Denis Murphy, Paul Coady and Jon Nolan 0-1 each.


Conor Slevin

Killian Leonard
Ger Healion
Kevin Grogan

Enda Grogan
Damien Kilmartin
Jordan Quinn

Cillian Kiely
Ciaran Slevin

James Gorman
Conor Mahon
Peter Geraghty

Thomas Geraghty
Peter Healion
Daniel Currams

Stephen Leonard for Healion (ht)
Alan McConville for Leonard (49)
James Geraghty for Grogan (51)
Shaun Lowry for Kilmartin (54)
Shane Guinan for Currams (56).

Mount Leinster Rangers

Frank Foley

Willie Hickey
Richard Kelly
Michael Doyle

Edward Coady
David Phelan
Gary Kelly

Diarmuid Byrne
Richard Coady

Paul Coady
Jack Murphy
Edward Byrne

Denis Murphy
Chris Nolan
Ted Joyce.

Michael Malone for Willie Hickey (17)
Kevin McDonald for Richard Coady (25)
Gary Lawlor for Edward Coady (ht)
Jon Nolan for Denis Murphy (ht).

Referee: John O’Brien (Laois).

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Champs again! Na Piarsaigh the kings of Munster as they lift fourth senior crown

Con O’Callaghan stars with 1-3 as Cuala make it back to 3rd successive Leinster final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel