INPHO/James Crombie Kildare's Paul Cribbin and Jamie Farrell of Laois in action tonight.
# Final Qualification
Leinster U21FC: Kildare and Longford clear semi final hurdles
The Lilywhites will face Longford in the decider after tonight’s last four clashes.

Kildare 3-22
Laois 0-7

Kildare cruised into the final of the Cadbury’s Leinster U21FC when they hammered Laois by 24 points in tonight’s semi-final tie in Parnell Park.

The Kieran McGeeney managed side were far too strong for their opponents with 12 different players contributing to their overall total of 3-22 as they reached the county’s first provincial final at this grade since 2008.

The opening stages of the game were keenly-contested with Kildare ahead 0-5 to 0-3 by the 16th minute but then the Lilywhites took over before half-time as they added six points and only conceded two.

Paul Cribbin, Padraig Fogarty and Fionn Dowling were to the fore in attack while Fogarty nearly found the net but saw his shot hit the upright before the break. At the other end Laois were reliant on Evan Costello for pointed frees  as they trailed 0-11 to 0-5 at the interval.

Kildare maintained their strong form after the break as they reeled off five points on the trot before they then put the game to bed with two goals in quick succession from substitute Fergal Conway and senior player Daniel Flynn.

Another substitute Hughie Mahon added the third goal as Kildare cantered to a comfortable victory.

Scorers for Kildare: Paul Cribbin 0-4, Fionn Dowling (0-1f), Paddy Brophy, Sean Hurley 0-3 each, Hugh Mahon 1-1, Fergal Conway, Daniel Flynn 1-0 each, Padraig Fogarty, Tommy Moolick Liam McGovern (0-1f) 0-2 each, Niall Kelly, Daniel Grehan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Laois: Evan Costello 0-5 (0-5f), Adam Ryan, Damien O’Connor 0-1 each.

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan (Maynooth); Michael Konstantin (Celbridge), David Hyland (Athy), Seán Higgins (Maynooth); Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge), Fergal Conway (Celbridge), Jonathan Byrne (Allenwood); Tommy Moolick (Leixlip), Sean Hurley (Johnstownbridge); Liam McGovern (Athy), Niall Kelly (Athy), Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge); Paddy Brophy (Celbridge), Fionn Dowling (Suncroft), Pádraig Fogarty (St. Laurence’s).

Subs: Hugh Mahon for Dowling, Barry Egan for Hyland, Tony Gibbons for Flynn, Conor Murphy for Kelly, Daniel Grehan for Brophy.

LAOIS Graham Brody (Portlaoise); Adam Campion (St Joseph’s), Mark O’Halloran (Courtwood), Stephen Attride (Killeshin); Will Young (Clonaslee St Manman’s), Padraig McEvoy (Ballylinan), Dan Dunne (St Joseph’s); Adam Ryan (Portarlington), Damien O’Connor (Timahoe); Kevin McGrath (Portarlington), Liam McGovern (Portlaoise), Jamie Farrell (Ballylinan); Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard), Evan Costello (Emo), Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen).

Subs: Shane Murphy for Young.

Referee: Niall Ward (Westmeath)

Kildare’s Fergal Conway scores the opening goal past goalkeeper Graham Brody of Laois
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie


Longford 2-11
Wexford 1-13

Longford had to survive a second-half onslaught from Wexford before emerging with victory in tonight’s Cadbury’s Leinster U21FC semi-final tie in Portlaoise.

Longford exploded from the blocks in the early stages and were ahead by a stunning 11 points early on as they lead 2-5 to 0-0. Mark Hughes bagged both their goals while Robbie Smyth and James McGivney grabbed neat points.

A shell-shocked Wexford side fought back with Robert Dempsey grabbing a goal to give them hope at half-time as they trailed by 2-7 to 1-3.

The Model County continued to make inroads into the Longford advantage and they remarkably drew level at 2-9 to 1-12 with 12 minutes left. Longford were reeling but sharpshooter Robbie Smyth helped steady their challenge when landing a brace of points.

And despite Dempsey cutting the gap to one, Wexford could not find the leveling score as Longford held on for a famous win.

LONGFORD: Paddy Collum (Fr. Manning Gaels); Ronan Keogh (Killoe Young Emmets), Barry O’Farrell (Carrickedmond), Cian Farrelly (Killoe Young Emmets); Diarmuid Cooney (Fr. Manning Gaels), Padraig McCormack (Killoe Young Emmetts), Darren Farrelly (Fr. Manning Gaels); Paddy Thopmson (Killoe Young Emmets), Darren Gallagher (St Mary’s); Daniel Mimnagh (Killoe Young Emmets), Barry McKeon (Colmcille), Rory O’Connor (Kenagh); Robbie Smyth (Abbeylara), Mark Hughes (Killoe Young Emmets), James McGivney (St Colmuba’s).

WEXFORD: Michael O’Toole (Starlights); Darren Foley (Fethard), Thomas Cullen (St Anne’s), Stephen Corrigan (Shelmaliers); Jack Kelly (Starlights), Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Anne’s), Aidan Cash (Shelmaliers); Lee Chin (Sarsfields), Colm Kehoe (Cloughbawn); Eddie Shiely (Horeswood), Graeme Cullen (Gusserane), John Tubritt (Fethard); Lee Devereux (St Mary’s), Alan Tobin (Starlights), Robert Dempsey (Glynn-Barntown).

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

James McGivney was in action for Longford tonight. Pic: INPHO/Donall Farmer

Comment: O’Neill and Cork face up to familiar injured feeling

Remembering Jim Stynes, the AFL icon who passed away a year ago today