Dublin: 15°C Thursday 11 August 2022

O'Neill sticks to his guns as Kildare and Monaghan name sides for Croker clash

They go head-to-head on Sunday.

Kildare manager Cian O'Neill.
Kildare manager Cian O'Neill.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

KILDARE BOSS CIAN O’Neill has named an unchanged starting 15 to face Monaghan in their Super 8s clash at Croke Park on Sunday (throw-in 2pm, live on Sky Sports).

The Lilywhites impressed last weekend as they put 3-20 past Fermanagh in Navan to further build on their win over 2017 All-Ireland finalists Mayo in Newbridge.

And O’Neill has entrusted the same starting team to take to the field at GAA HQ this weekend.

Monaghan meanwhile have made one change to the side that beat Laois last time out to book their place in the last eight.

Owen Duffy starts in the half-forward line with Clones’ Fintan Kelly dropping to the backs, and Colin Walsh is the player to make way to facilitate the switch-up.

Owen Duffy Monaghan's Owen Duffy. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)

5. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
6. Eoin Doyle (Naas)
7. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
12. Kevin Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

13. Neill Flynn (Maynooth)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)


1. Rory Beggan

2. Kieran Duffy
3. Drew Wylie
4. Ryan Wylie

5. Fintan Kelly
6. Vinny Corey
7. Karl O’Connell

8. Niall Kearns
9. Darren Hughes

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

10. Ryan McAnespie
11. Shane Carey
12. Owen Duffy

13. Conor McCarthy
14. Jack McCarron
15. Conor McManus

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel