This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Monday 13 July, 2020

Kilkenny survive strong Carlow test to book Leinster U21 hurling final place

A two-point win for the Cats tonight.

It was a good night for Kilkenny hurling.
It was a good night for Kilkenny hurling.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Kilkenny 2-14
Carlow 2-12

KILKENNY WILL GET the chance for revenge on Wexford on the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling stage in next month’s final after they survived a semi-final test against Carlow this evening.

Kilkenny ran out two-point winners in Netwatch Cullen Park tonight and will now hope to atone for losing out to Wexford in the U21 grade over the past two campaigns.

At the break Kilkenny were ahead 2-9 to 0-8 with Ciaran Ryan and Liam Hickey bagging goals in the opening 12 minutes.

However Carlow got a huge boost when Peter Shaw netted early in the second-half and they battled all the way to the finish with James Kavanagh striking home their second goal in injury-time.

Conor Martin hit 0-5 for Kilkenny and Liam Blanchfield landed a pair of points as they sought to build on their quarter-final win over Dublin.

Kevin McDonald notched 0-4 for Carlow and Chris Nolan weighed in with 0-3 as they came close to following up on their previous round success over Laois.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Ciaran Ryan 1-2, Conor Martin 0-5 (0-4f), Liam Hickey 1-1, Liam Blanchfield 0-2, Jason Cleere, Paddy Deegan, Mark Mansfield, James Maher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carlow: Kevin McDonald 0-4 (0-3f), Peter Shaw 1-1, Jack Kavanagh 1-0, Chris Nolan 0-3, Ted Joyce, Marty Kavanagh (0-1f) 0-2 each.


1. Darren Brennan (St. Lachtains)

2. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)
3. Ciarán Wallace (Erin’s Own)
4. Evan Cody (Dicksboro) (Capt)

5. Jason Cleere (Bennettstbridge)
6. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
7. Brian Troy (Emeralds)

8. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)
9. Mark Mansfield (Mullinavat)

10. Conor Martin (Emeralds)
11. Willie Brennan (Fenians)
12. James Maher (St Lachtain’s)

13. Liam Hickey (St Lachtain’s)
14. Ciarán Ryan (Rower/Inistioge)
15. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)


1. Jack Barron (Erin’s Own)

2. Sean Whelan (Ballinkillen)
3. Luke Roche (Mount Leinster Rangers)
4. Michael Malone (Mount Leinster Rangers)

5. Jack Murphy (Mount Leinster Rangers)
6. Ger Coady (St Mullins)
7. Michael O’Grady (Mount Leinster Rangers)

8. Diarmuid Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers)
9. Conor Fenlon (Mount Leinster Rangers)

10. Martin Kavanagh (St Mullins)
11. Dion Wall (Ballinkillen)
12. Peter Shaw (Naomh Bríd)

13. James Doyle (St Mullin)
14. Kevin McDonald (Mount Leinster Rangers)
15. Ted Joyce (Mount Leinster Rangers)

Referee: Justin Heffernan (Wexford)

Wexford U21s turned on the style to set up this brilliant goal with one-touch hurling

Wexford keep Leinster U21 three-in-a-row dream alive with win over Offaly

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel