2 switches each as Kilkenny and Limerick name All-Ireland quarter-final teams

Colin Fennelly starts at full-forward for the Cats on Sunday.

Starting: Colin Fennelly.
Starting: Colin Fennelly.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

BRIAN CODY HAS made two changes to his Kilkenny side as they gear up for their All-Ireland quarter-final SHC showdown against Limerick on Sunday.

It’s a quick turnaround for the Cats after their Leinster final replay loss to Galway last weekend, as they prepare for the Semple Stadium showdown (throw-in 2pm).

Colin Fennelly — who hit 1-1 after his introduction from the bench last time out — starts at full-forward, replacing the injured Walter Walsh.

Elsewhere, Tullaroan’s Martin Keoghan starts at wing half-forward with John Donnelly the player to make way, altering the late change that was made last week.

The Kilkenny minor team to face Galway in the curtain raiser has also been named.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)

5. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
7. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)
9. James Maher (St Lachtains)

10. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)

13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)

You can see the 26 in full, and the Kilkenny minor team, here >

Meanwhile, Limerick manager John Kiely has also made two changes to the side that beat Carlow last weekend for the Kilkenny challenge in Thurles.

Bruff’s Sean Finn comes back into the full-back with Mike Casey at full-back while Richie McCarthy drops to the bench.

Darragh O’Donovan returns to midfield with William O’Donoghue making way.

Darragh O'Donovan Starting: Darragh O'Donovan. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Nicky Quaid

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

2. Sean Finn
3. Mike Casey
4. Richie English

5. Diarmaid Byrnes
6. Declan Hannon – Captain
7. Dan Morrissey

8. Darragh O’Donovan
9. Cian Lynch

10. Gearoid Hegarty
11. Kyle Hayes
12. Tom Morrissey

13. Aaron Gillane
14. Seamus Flanagan
15. Graeme Mulcahy


16. Barry Hennessy
17. Peter Casey
18. David Dempsey
19. Shane Dowling
20. Seamus Hickey
21. Richie McCarthy
22. Barry Nash
23. William O’Donoghue
24. Paddy O’Loughlin
25. David Reidy
26. Pat Ryan

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel