Kilkenny's Jack Buggy tries to get past Tipperary's Sean Phelan. Oisin Keniry/INPHO
Cats In Control

Kilkenny hold off Tipperary fightback to book All-Ireland final date with Galway

The Cats advanced to the minor final on 19 August.

Kilkenny 1-15
Tipperary 2-10

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

A FIRST ALL-Ireland minor hurling final date since 2014 is in the offing for Kilkenny after they withstood Tipperary’s late surge to prevail in today’s semi-final tie at Croke Park.

In front by six points at half-time, by seven points with 20 minutes remaining and five points with five minutes left, Kilkenny ended up having to close out the game in injury-time as they hung onto their advantage.

Jack Buggy is tackled by Sean Phelan Kilkenny's Jack Buggy tries to get past Tipperary's Sean Phelan. Oisin Keniry / INPHO Oisin Keniry / INPHO / INPHO

It gives Kilkenny a chance to clinch their first All-Ireland minor title since they triumphed four years ago and it will be the first instalment of a decider between Kilkenny and Galway since 2009.

They were grateful to the scoring contribution of Ciarán Brennan, who hit 1-2, along with the 0-4 tallies posted by jack Morrissey and Jack Buggy.

Tipperary were inspired by substitute Mikey O’Shea striking 2-1 from play in the second half but they paid the price for a sluggish start as they trailed 1-7 to 0-4 at the interval.

Devon Ryan with Dylan Crehan Tipperary's Devon Ryan with Kilkenny's Dylan Crehan. Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

Kilkenny were in front 1-7 to 0-4 at half-time, 1-3 without reply after the 22nd minute bolstering their position. Brennan found the net in first-half injury-time and it transpired to be a crucial moment as he whipped his shot home.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Ciarán Brennan 1-2, Jack Buggy (0-2f), Jack Morrissey 0-4 each, Conor Kelly (0-1f), Cathal O’Leary, Dan Coogan, Killian Hogan, Eoin Guilfoyle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Mikey O’Shea 2-1, Devon Ryan 0-3 (0-1f), Conor Whelan 0-2 (0-2f), Seán Hayes, James Devaney (0-1f), Jack Morrissey 0-1 each.


1. Jason Brennan (Young Irelands)

2. Pádraig Dempsey (Mullinavat)
3. Jamie Young (O’Loughlin Gaels)
4. Dylan Crehan (Dunnamaggin)

5. Darragh Maher (St Lachtain’s)
6. Shane Staunton (Clara)
7. Jamie Harkin (Bennettsbridge)

8. Conor Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels – captain)
9. Cian Kenny (James Stephens)

10. Jack Morrissey (St Patrick’s)
11. Ciarán Brennan (Bennettsbridge)
12. George Murphy (Rower-Inistioge)

13. Cathal O’Leary (St Lachtain’s)
14. Dan Coogan (Erins Own)
15. Jack Buggy (Erins Own)


23. Killian Hogan (Mooncoin) for O’Leary (41)
18. Pádraic Moylan (Dicksboro) for Coogan (47)
24. Eoin Guilfoyle (James Stephens) for Moylan (inj) (52)


1. Aaron Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)

2. Conor O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs)
3. Conor Whelan (Mullinahone)
4. Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris)

5. Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers – captain)
6. Seán Phelan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
7. Frank Hanafin (Holycross-Ballycahill)

8. Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris)
9. John Campion (Drom-Inch)

10. Seán Hayes (Kiladangan)
11. Cian O’Farrell (Nenagh Éire Óg)
12. Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane McDonaghs)

13. Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
14. Ryan Renehan (Cappawhite)
15. James Devaney (Borris-Ileigh)


20. Jack Morrissey (Moycarkey-Borris) for Hackett (25)
18. Mikey O’Shea (Mullinahone) for Renehan (28)
17. Kevin Maher (Borris-Ileigh) for Campion (46)
22. Jack Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields) for Devaney (48)
19. Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane) for Johnny Ryan (56)

Referee: Rory McGann (Clare)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!