BE PART OF THE TEAM

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Friday 25 September 2020
Advertisement

VIDEO: The spear tackle for which Kuridrani saw red

Here’s the challenge that left referee Chris Pollock with no decision but to show the Aussie centre red.

Warning: video contains strong language.

YouTube credit: Empired6

AUSTRALIA’S WIN OVER Ireland last night was almost pitch perfect, apart from this nasty incident late on. Tevita Kuridrani rightly saw red for his part in the tackle, with Peter O’Mahony clearly fuming about what he called “dangerous play”.

Some analysts, including Ronan O’Gara, suggested that Ireland’s players should have shown a more aggressive response to the Australian’s actions, but the BBC co-commentator felt that O’Mahony was over-reacting.

After George Pisi picked up a six-week ban for his tip tackle on Tommy Bowe last weekend, is Kuridrani facing an even lengthier suspension for this one?

Madigan admits that out-half selection will be a ‘tight call’

Springboks utterly dominant in victory over Scotland

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:

COMMENTS (32)