Dublin: 11°C Sunday 26 June 2022

50 up for JVDF as Kiwi pair return for Leinster after South African visa issue

A foot injury will keep James Ryan out of action this week and also for the province’s return to the RDS.

Van der Flier holds off Nick McCarthy in training.
Van der Flier holds off Nick McCarthy in training.
Image: Mike Sheehan/INPHO

ISA NACEWA AND Jamison Gibson-Park will start the second match of Leinster’s mini-tour to South Africa after missing out on the win over the Kings.

The Kiwi pair were initially refused entry to South Africa last week after confusion over a law change around visas for New Zealanders which came into effect in the past year.

Nacewa starts at inside centre against the Cheetahs (kick-off, 19.00 Sky Sports) in place of Rory O’Loughlin, with Noel Reid moving to the 13 jersey after scoring in Port Elizabeth last Saturday.

There are eight further changes to Cullen’s starting line-up with Cian Healy – another who experienced transit difficulties on the trip – starting in an all new front row. 24-year-old Josh van der Flier comes into the back row to win his 50th cap with Rhys Ruddock dropping to the bench.

A foot injury will keep James Ryan from renewing his second row partnership with Ross Molony in Bloemfontein and the powerful young star will not be in consideration for next week’s home meeting with Edinburgh.

Also on the injured list for this clash are Fergus McFadden (hamstring) and Luke McGrath (arm), however both are expected to be fit for the RDS fixture on 29 September and so have flown back to Ireland early.

The return from injury of Springbok back row Oupa Mahoje has bolstered the Cheetahs and he will start at number eight to push Junior Pokomela into the 20 jersey.


15 Sergeal Petersen
14 Rosco Specman
13 Francois Venter (Capt)
12 William Small-Smith
11 Makazole Mapimpi
10 Ernst Stapelberg
9 Tian Meyer

1 Charles Marais
2 Torsten van Jaarsveld
3 Tom Botha
4 Justin Basson
5 Reniel Hugo
6 Paul Schoeman
7 Henco Venter
8 Oupa Mohoje


16 Jacques du Toit
17 Ox Nche
18 Johan Coetzee
19 Rynier Bernardo
20 Junior Pokomela
21 Shaun Venter
22 Nico Lee
23 Luther Obi


15. Joey Carbery
14. Dave Kearney
13. Noel Reid
12. Isa Nacewa (Capt.)
11. Barry Daly
10. Ross Byrne
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

1. Cian Healy
2. James Tracy
3. Michael Bent
4. Ross Molony
5. Mick Kearney
6. Jordi Murphy
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jack Conan


16. Seán Cronin
17. Peter Dooley
18. Andrew Porter
19. Rhys Ruddock
20. Max Deegan
21. Nick McCarthy
22. Cathal Marsh
23. Rory O’Loughlin

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Henderson back for impact role as Timoney earns first Ulster start

Scannell to make first start of the season for Munster’s trip to Glasgow

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel