This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 18 January, 2020

Poll: Who will win this year's Liam MacCarthy Cup?

Clare to do it again? Or will the Cats be back? Have your say.

Davy Fitz won't want to let go of Liam McCarthy this summer.
Davy Fitz won't want to let go of Liam McCarthy this summer.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

THE HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP has never been more wide open. Can you call it?

The Munster championship begins this weekend as Waterford and Cork renew old rivalries. Cork will be looking to go one further than last year, after nine years of waiting.

In Leinster, Kilkenny will look to bounce back quickly from the disappointment of last year and their third consecutive league success will have put them in the right direction.

Last year’s Leinster winners Dublin have grown and grown in recent years, and Anthony Daly is back again in the hope of ending their 66 year wait.

Galway struggled last year, but the success of Portumna will rise the confidence of the county. While Tipperary have underachieved since the highs of 2010.

Limerick and Waterford could too have an outside chance.

So will it be back to back wins for Clare, or who do you think will win this year’s Liam MacCarthy?

Poll Results:

Kilkenny (703)
Tipperary (665)
Cork (551)
Clare (519)
Dublin (228)
Galway (167)
Limerick (163)
Waterford (69)
Laois (52)
Wexford (50)
Antrim (20)
Offaly (18)

7 things to know about Kilkenny’s Padraig Walsh aka Tommy’s younger brother

‘This is our province after all’ – Laois hurling boss questions new Leinster hurling format

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel