This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 1 °C Tuesday 22 January, 2019

Holders Cork begin defence in Kerry while All-Ireland champions Dublin face Donegal

The 2018 Lidl National League fixtures have been announced.

THE 2018 LIDL National League fixtures have been announced with several big clashes down for decision in the opening round, particularly in Division 1.

league Doireann O'Sullivan and Sinéad Goldrick.

Holders Cork will face rivals Kerry in a Munster derby while 2017 All-Ireland senior champions Dublin kick the year off away to 2017 League finalists and Ulster champions Donegal.

Beaten by the Sky Blues in Croke Park in September and under new management, Mayo will hope to get their 2018 off on the right foot as they host Westmeath — promoted following their Division 2 win in May.

Reigning Connacht champions Galway meanwhile face Monaghan.

The opening round of fixtures across all four divisions will be played on Sunday, 28 January.

In Division 2, 2017 All-Ireland intermediate champions and newly promoted Tipperary face a tough opening test in the form of Armagh, who are down from the top tier.

Tipperary v Tyrone - TG4 Ladies Football All-Ireland Intermediate Championship Final 2017 All-Ireland intermediate champions Tipp. Source: Cody Glenn/SPORTSFILE

Laois and Cavan, and Clare and Sligo also go head-to-head in round one.

Further down the line, Ladies football kingpins Dublin and Cork face off on 11 February  while the repeat of last year’s senior All-Ireland final between Mayo and the Dubs is fixed for 25 February.

The Ladies Gaelic football Association (LGFA) have also announced a restructure of the TG4 championship format for the 2018 season.

The provincial championships run off as normal but seedings for the new round-robin phase of the All-Ireland series will be based around performances in the provincial campaigns.

The All-Ireland championships will commence in July, with All-Ireland finals day taking place on Sunday, September 16.

Here’s the full list of fixtures for the 2018 Lidl National Leagues: Lidl National league Fixtures 2018 – Media

Click on the following link for the 2018 Master Fixtures Plan: Master Fixtures Plan 2018 – Media

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

‘I’m at a great club at the moment’: Leinster coach Lancaster plays down English speculation

Tuilagi avoids ban for tackle on Munster’s Cloete after citing complaint dismissed

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel