Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Monday 21 September 2020

4 Munster championship debutants in Limerick side to face Clare

The sides clash in Cusack Park in Ennis on Saturday evening.

Limerick footballers take on Clare on Saturday.
Limerick footballers take on Clare on Saturday.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

THERE’S FOUR NEWCOMERS to the Munster senior football championship in the Limerick team that will take on Clare in Ennis on Saturday night.

Corner-back Robert Browne, centre-back Cillian Fahy, wing-back Stephen Cahill and corner-forward Peter Nash are the debutants in the Limerick starting fifteen.

Goalkeeper Brian Scanlon is the only other player in John Brudair’s starting fifteen that didn’t feature at some juncture in their Munster championship clash last year when they lost out to Tipperary.

Seanie Buckley will captain the Limerick team with Johnny McCarthy, Thomas Lee, Pa Ranahan and Ian Ryan the other most experienced players in their setup.

Throw-in for Saturday night’s quarter-final tie in Ennis is 7pm.


1. Brian Scanlon (Gerald Griffin’s)

2. Sean O’Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
3. Johnny McCarthy (St.Kieran’s)
4. Robert Browne (Fr. Casey’s)

5. Iain Corbett (Newcastlewest)
6. Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford)
7. Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins)

8. Thomas Lee (Ballylanders)
9. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)

10. John Riordan (Fr Casey’s)
11. Pa Ranahan (Ballysteen)
12. Darragh Tracey (St. Kieran’s)

13. Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
14. Seanie Buckley (Dromcollogher/Broadford
15. Ian Ryan (St. Senan’s)

Cork and Belfast will host next year’s Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup final weekends

5 reasons why Roscommon football is on the up

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: