Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 0°C Saturday 10 April 2021

Strong selections from Cork and Limerick hurlers ahead of weekend decider

The teams clash in the Munster Hurling League final on Sunday.

Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

BOTH LIMERICK AND Cork have gone with strong selections ahead of Sunday’s Co-Op Superstoes Munster Hurling League final.

The game is a repeat of the sides’ clash a fortnight ago, in which Kieran Kingston’s outfit racked up a surprisingly comfortable victory.

John Kiely’s starting XV sees Richie McCarthy, Declan Hannon and Seamus Hickey anchor a solid defence while Paul Browne and James Ryan are reunited in midfield. Cian Lynch and Barry Nash feature in attack.

For the Rebels, in-form duo Shane Kingston and Patrick Horgan continue in attack while Daniel Kearney and Conor Lehane will look to pick up from where they left off against Clare.

The game at the Gaelic Grounds throws-in at 2pm.


1. Nick Quaid (Effin)

2. Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare)
7. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)

8. Paul Browne (Bruff)
9. James Ryan (Garryspillane) (Captain)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
12. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

13. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

16. David McCarthy (Glenroe)
17. Seanie O Brien Patrickswell
18. Richie English (Doon)
19. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock)
20. Darragh O Donovan (Doon)
21. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
22. Sean Tobin (Murroe/Boher)
23. Ronan Lynch Na Piarsaigh
24. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
25. Kevin O Brien (Patrickswell)
26. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, (Monaleen).


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
3 Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
4. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)

5. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
6. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
9. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)

10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
15. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
18. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)
19. Jack Sheehan (Erins Own)
20. Killian Burke (Midleton)
21. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)
22. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
23. Paul Haughney (Midleton)
24. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
25. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
26. Michael Cahalane (Bandon)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

We go again: Mayo great Cora Staunton is coming back for a remarkable 23rd season

Champions! St Peter’s see off Moate to claim first Leinster senior football title in 25 years

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: