Dublin: 12°C Wednesday 29 June 2022

Captain, goalkeeper and current Allstar dropped from Limerick hurling team

Boss TJ Ryan has dropped five players and altered every line of his team to play Westmeath on Sunday.

There are wholesale changes on the Limerick hurling team to play Westmeath.
There are wholesale changes on the Limerick hurling team to play Westmeath.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

LIMERICK BOSS TJ Ryan has taken the scalpel to his starting 15 for Sunday’s All-Ireland senior hurling qualifier against Westmeath.

Ryan has reacted to the 16-point Munster semi-final defeat against Tipperary by making five changes in personnel and a host of positional switches.

Captain Donal O’Grady, Allstar corner back Seamus Hickey, Declan Hannon, Stephen Walsh and goalkeeper Barry Hennessy have all been axed.

Nickie Quaid returns between the sticks after recovering from injury and there are starts for Wayne McNamara, fit-again Paul Browne, Kevin Downes and Seanie Tobin, who is back from suspension.

There are changes in every line of the team as last year’s midfield pairing of Browne and James Ryan is restored.

Meanwhile, Westmeath boss Michael Ryan has made three changes to his team.

Niall O’Brien and Robbie Greville return from suspension to fill the corner forward slots and Shane Power has recovered from the facial injury he sustained in the pre-match warm-up ahead of the Leinster quarter-final against Wexford.

Eoin Price and Niall Dowdall will miss the game through injury and Darragh Clinton is listed among the subs.

The game takes place at Cusack Park in Mullingar on Sunday, with a 2pm throw-in.


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell)

5. Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock)
6. Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock)
7. Wayne McNamara (Adare)

8. James Ryan (Garryspillane)
9. Paul Browne (Bruff)

10. David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Seanie Tobin (Murroe-Boher)
12. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

13. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
14. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)


1. Shane McGovern

2. Shane Power
3. Tommy Doyle
4. Kieran Duncan

5. Aaron Craig
6. Aonghus Clarke
7. Alan McGrath

8. Cormac Boyle
9. Joe Clarke

10. Alan Devine
11. Derek McNicholas
12. Liam Varley

13. Niall O’Brien
14. Brendan Murtagh
15. Robbie Greville

Tipperary’s biggest injury headache is in defence before Munster hurling final

Offaly unveil side to take on Clare in hurling qualifier

About the author:

Read next: