This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Monday 25 March, 2019

Fitzgibbon and Dempsey key in helping new Limerick boss claim win over Waterford

A seven-point victory at the Fraher Field for Limerick this afternoon.

New Limerick boss John Kiely saw players like Alan Dempsey help deliver a victory today.
New Limerick boss John Kiely saw players like Alan Dempsey help deliver a victory today.
Image: INPHO

Limerick 0-24
Waterford 1-14

Thomas Keane reports from Walsh Park

LIMERICK PROVED TOO strong for an under-strength Waterford side in the first round of the Coop Superstores Munster Senior Hurling League at Fraher Field this afternoon as new manager John Kiely got off to a winning start.

John Fitzgibbon and Alan Dempsey were the scoring stars for Limerick as they weighed in with a combined haul of 0-15.

Waterford started brightly in the first half going five points up with just ten minutes played.

Limerick however came more into the game as the first half progressed and at the break they were just three points behind 1-10 to 0-10.

The only goal of the game came on seventeen minutes when Stephen Bennett found DJ Foran who went high to catch over his head and when he went through on Nickie Quaid, he made no mistake.

In the second half Limerick proved no match for Waterford as they powered their way to a comfortable seven points victory.

Stephen Bennett is tackled by Nickie Quaid Waterford's Stephen Bennett is tackled by Limerick's Nickie Quaid Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Fitzgibbon, Dempsey, Sean Tobin and Gearoid Hegerty found scores with ease when they were presented with chances.

For Waterford Billy Nolan on his competitive debut proved to their busiest player on the day, hitting six points with three of those coming from frees.

Forward DJ Foran also impressed for the home side as he bagged 1-1.

DJ Foran DJ Foran heads on to the pitch in Dungarvan Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Scorers for Limerick: John Fitzgibbon 0-8 (0-6f) Alan Dempsey 0-7, Seanie Tobin 0-3, Diarmaid Byrnes (0-2f), Gearoid Hegarty 0-2 each, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Billy Nolan 0-6 (0-3f), DJ Foran 1-1, Martin O’Neill 0-2, Stephen Roche, Mark O’Brien, Gavin O’Brien, Mikey Kearney, Colm Roche 0-1 each.


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

17. Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Diarmaid Byrne (Patrickswell)
6. Seamus Hickey (Murrie/Boher)
7. Declan Hannon (Adare)

8. John Fitzgibbon (Adare)
9. Gavin O’Mahoney (Kilmallock)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
11. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
12. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)

21. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
13. Sean Tobin (Murroe/Boher)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)


18. Kyles Hayes (Pallaskenry) for O’Brien (HT)
28. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell) for Tobin (54)
24. Richie English (Doon) for McCarthy (66)


1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

4. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
3. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
2. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner)

7. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
6. MJ Sutton (Ferrybank)
5. Shane Roche (Shamrocks)

8. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)
13. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore)

12. Martin F. O’Neill (Mount Sion)
9. Stephen Roche (Mount Sion)
14. DJ Foran (Portlaw)

15. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)
11. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
10. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)


26. Billy O’Keeffe (Ballygunner) for Kearney (half-time)
25. Killian Fitzgerald (Passage) for Bennett (half-time)
21. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin) for S Roche (half-time)
17. Colm Roche (Shamrocks) for O’Brien (half-time)

Referee: Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel