This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Tuesday 11 December, 2018

5 youngsters to make Munster senior debuts for Limerick in Thurles on Sunday

Manager John Kiely has handed newcomers the chance to impress.

Mike Casey and David Dempsey are amongst the Limerick debutants.
Mike Casey and David Dempsey are amongst the Limerick debutants.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

JOHN KIELY HAS gone with a youthful policy for Sunday’s Munster semi-final against Clare, with five players set to make their senior hurling championship debut for Limerick.

Kiely has turned to players who were involved with him for the 2015 All-Ireland U21 success, in what will be his first championship outing as Limerick senior manager.

The Casey brothers, Mike and Peter, from 2016 All-Ireland senior club champions Na Piarsaigh are selected to start at corner-back and corner-forward respectively.

Their club mate David Dempsey is named at centre-forward while corner-back Sean Finn, a cruciate victim last year, is another member of that successful U21 side.

Kyle Hayes completes the list of newcomers as he is named to start at full-forward. Teenager Hayes captained the Limerick minor side that contested last September’s All-Ireland final against Tipperary.

John Kiely Limerick hurling manager John Kiely Source: Conor Wyse/INPHO

In all there are only eight survivors from the Limerick team that exited last year’s championship at the hands of Clare in the qualifiers with wing-backs Dan Morrissey and Seamus Hickey also starting on this occasion.

Injury rules out vice-captains Diarmuid Byrnes and Gearoid Hegarty, along with midfielder William O’Donoghue.


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare)
7. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)

8. Paul Browne (Bruff)
9. James Ryan (Garryspillane – captain)

10. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
11. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)


16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Richie English (Doon)
18. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock)
19. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
20. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
21. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
22. Pat Ryan (Doon)
23. Darragh O Donovan (Doon)
24. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
25. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
26. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Captain and key forward to make 2017 bow for Clare in Munster battle with Limerick

Cheering on Carey from the bench in ’96 to plotting for Limerick’s battle with Clare

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel