Dublin: 5°C Wednesday 8 December 2021

Hickey returns as Limerick name Munster semi-final team to face Tipp

Shane Dowling and Kevin Downes are the two men who will start this Sunday having not made the starting line-up in last year’s Munster decider.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

THIRTEEN OF LIMERICK’S Munster title winning side last year are named in the starting fifteen for the first defence of their crown against Tipperary on Sunday.

Manager TJ Ryan has made two changes from the final win over Cork last July with Na Piarsaigh duo Shane Dowling and Kevin Downes – who both came on as substitutes in that victory over the Rebels – both handed starting places in attack.

The players to make way are David Breen, who has been hampered by injury this season, and defender Stephen Walsh.

Seamus Hickey, who tore his cruciate ligament last year in the All-Ireland semi-final loss to Clare, is named to start in defence at right corner-back.

Throw-in on Sunday afternoon for the semi-final clash in Semple Stadium is 4pm with Tipperary set to announce their team on Saturday lunch time.

LIMERICK (v Tipperary Munster SHC)

1. Nicky Quaid – Effin
2. Seamus Hickey – Murroe Boher
3. Richie McCarthy – Blackrock
4. Tom Condon – Knockaderry
5. Paudie O’Brien – Kilmallock
6. Wayne McNamara – Adare
7. Gavin O’Mahony – Kilmallock
8. James Ryan – Garryspillane
9. Paul Browne – Bruff
10. Shane Dowling – Na Piarsaigh
11. Donal O’Grady – Granagh Ballingarry
12. Declan Hannon – Adare
13. Graeme Mulcahy – Kilmallock
14. Kevin Downes – Na Piarsaigh
15. Seanie Tobin – Murroe Boher


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: