This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Sunday 29 March, 2020

Limerick book All-Ireland minor semi-final place with win over Wexford

The Shannonsiders saw off the beaten Leinster finalists by eight points.

Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Limerick 0-17

Wexford 0-9

PAT DONNELLY’S LIMERICK bounced back from their Munster final disappointment to book a place in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland semi-finals.

The Shannonsiders saw off beaten Leinster finalists Wexford by eight points at Semple Stadium in this afternoon’s quarter-final, as Brian Ryan collected 10 points, and will now face Leinster champions Dublin in the last four.

But Wexford were wasteful as the Slaneysiders racked up a massive tally of 15 wides over the hour, including 8 in the second half of an underwhelming encounter.

Wexford were still in contention midway through the second half, trailing by three points, and had a 51st minute goal disallowed for square ball when Barry O’Connor encroached.

But Wexford could never get closer than three points in the second half – and Damien Reck missed a straight-forward free in the 42nd minute which would have left just two between them.

Limerick took their time burning off Wexford but eventually did down the home straight by hitting five of the game’s final six points, Ryan accounting for four of them.

Limerick, playing against the breeze, led by 0-8 to 0-5 at the end of a disappointing first half.

Ryan was Limerick’s scorer-in-chief, hitting four pointed frees, as Conor Boylan pitched in with a brace from play.

Wexford’s Theo Doyle chipped in with two fine points but between them, the sides managed just six points from play between them in the opening half.

They were level twice in the early exchanges, at two and three points apiece, before Limerick established a 0-7 to 0-3 lead, a run of four unanswered scores comprised of three Ryan frees and a long-range Josh Adams effort.

Doyle ended a 21-minute barren spell for Wexford before Kyle Hayes and Wexford’s Reck (free) traded scores approaching the break.

Scorers for Limerick: Brian Ryan 0-10 (6f), Conor Boylan 0-3, Josh Adams (f), Michael O’Grady, Kyle Hayes & David Woulfe 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: Damien Reck 0-3 (2f, 1 65), Liam Stafford & Theo Doyle 0-2 each, Conall Flood (f) & Andy Walsh 0-1 each.


1. Mark O’Kelly (Croom)

2. Brian Nash (South Liberties)

3. Conor Nicholas (Monaleen)
4. Ronan Connelly (Adare)

5. Josh Adams (Ballybrown)
6. Ciarán O’Connor (Kilmallock)
7. Finn Hourigan (Murroe-Boher)

8. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Darragh Carroll (Newport)

10. Michael O’Grady (Knockainey)
11. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
12. David Woulfe (Kilmallock)

13. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)

14. Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock)
15. Brian Ryan (South Liberties)


23. Cal McCarthy (Kilmallock) for Carroll (30+1)
21. Paul O’Riordan (Bruff) for Barrett (45)
18. John Flynn (Patrickswell) for McCarthy (50)
17. Cian Magnier Flynn (Killeedy) for Woulfe (53)
24. Conor O’Grady (Hospital/Herberstown) for O’Grady (57)


1. James Henebery (Faythe Harriers)

2. Conor Scallan (Ferns St Aidan’s)
3. Darren Byrne (Blackwater)
4. Eoin Molloy (Naomh Éanna)

7. Conal Flood (Cloughbawn)
6. Conor Firman (St Martin’s)
5. Jack Cullen (Naomh Éanna)

8. Garry Molloy (Naomh Éanna)
9. Andy Walsh (St James)

10. Liam Stafford (Adamstown)
11. Damien Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien)
12. Barry O’Connor (St Martin’s)

13. Conor Hearne (Shelmaliers)
14. Mark O’Neill (Gusserane)
15. Theo Doyle (Naomh Éanna)


20. Quinn Saunders (Our Lady’s Island) for Cullen (41)
21. Murtha Doyle (Oulart-the-Ballagh) for Doyle (43)
22. Sam Wall (Gusserane) for Hearne (51)
23. Eoin Kelly (HWH Bunclody) for O’Neill (56)

Referee: David Hughes (Carlow)

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel