As it Happened: How Tipp crushed Waterford

As All-Ireland champions Tipperary take on Waterford in the Munster Final, we’ll bring you all the latest from Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Lar Corbett
Lar Corbett
Image: INPHO

Send us your thoughts and comments on this afternoon’s action. E-mail, tweet us@thescore_iefind us on Facebook, or leave a comment below.

FULL TIME: Tipperary 7-19 Waterford 0-19

A massive 21-point winning margin for the All-Ireland champions. Lar Corbett and Eoin Kelly were two of the stars on the day – with Tipp’s full forward line scoring an incredible 6-13 from play. Waterford were dismal at the back and well out of the contest by the time their opponents’ goal rush came just before the break.

Declan Ryan’s men didn’t give up in the second half either, with Corbett and Kelly adding two more goals and the experienced pairing of John Mullane and Eoin Kelly, the latter on as a substitute, failing to make any real impact. The Deise’s sole comfort will be the scoring performance of Pauric Mahony, who collected 13 points on the day.

Added Time: Shane Bourke gets on the scoreboard after a brace for namesake Pa Bourke.

17.32 A fourth goal for Corbett. One positive for Waterford has been the shooting of Pauric Mahony, who has 13 points – mainly from frees. 7-17 to 0-18

17.27 Shane Bourke and Brendan Maher are being given run outs for the final ten minutes. The biggest cheer, however, is for Brendan Cummins when he is replaced by Darren Gleeson. The former made his 65th Championship appearance this afternoon and will break the record next time out.

17.21 Noel McGrath splits the posts with a fantastic effort from the sideline while replays show a bewildered looking Fitzgerald near the Waterford dugout. 6-16 to 0-15

17.18 The commentator’s curse! A superb ball in from Gearoid Ryan sees Eoin Kelly escape his marker and score Tipperary’s sixth.

17.14 Fitzgerald plays his final hand and brings Eoin Kelly into the contest. Tipperary send on Pa Burke in place of goal scorer Seamus Callanan. Two points in a row from the Deise means that they now lead the second half by six points to five. 5-15 to 0-14.

17.10 Maurice Shanahan has made a few runs and caused a few problems since his introduction. He wins another free, allowing colleague Pauric Mahony to get his tenth point of the day. Clinton Hennessy, meanwhile, makes a brilliant save at the other end to remind the crowd – just how dangerous Tipperary still are.

17.07 Eoin Kelly continues to look impressive this summer. The forward adds another point to bring his personal tally for the day to 1-6.

17.04 Tipperary start where they left off in the first half – Eoin Kelly, Lar Corbett and Gearoid Ryan all picking off points. 5-14 to 0-10.

17.00 Liam Lawlor, David O’Sullivan and Maurice Shanahan are all in for Waterford.

16.50 RTÉ’s pundits are pointing to Waterford’s defensive frailties rather than Tipp’s masterful display up front. There’s no question over the quality of Corbett’s goals though – an incredibly talented player.

Half time: The crowd in Cork is 36,654.

16.44 As the half-time whistle goes, what can Davy Fitzgerald possibly say to his players over the next 15 minutes? Not a team talk for the faint hearted we imagine…

16.40 Oh dear… two more goals and Tipperary’s forwards aren’t even celebrating anymore. Another for Corbett and also one for Seamus Callanan. We’re 5-10 to 0-7.

16.36 Corbett gets a second goal for himself and his county’s third. 3-10 to 0-7.

16.35 Contrasting fortunes: John Mullane mis-hits an attempt on goal and concedes the puck out. From the resulting play, a great catch by Noel McGrath sends Eoin Kelly clear and he gets Tipp’s second goal.

16.30 Shane O’Sullivan keeps Waterford in touch with a fine point. Shane Walsh, however, might have found a team-mate when he seemed intent on driving towards goal.

16.24 Kelly and Corbett score fine points from play – both turning and striking beautifully – and Tipp are adding scores at will at the moment. In reply, Pauric Mahony has nailed two frees. Only Browne has scored from play for the Deise at the moment. 1-09 to 0-5.

16.21 Eoin Kelly catches a free sweetly and extends his side’s lead. Tony Browne and the rest of the Waterford defence have had a difficult start to the day so far.

16.18 Another point from Corbett, taking his tally to 1-2 today, makes it 1-6 to 0-3.

16.14 We’ve overcome a couple of technical gremlins to get our live coverage up and running. Tipperary have made a flying start and with the help of a Lar Corbett goal are 1-5 to 0-3 head in the early minutes of the Munster SHC final.

Waterford: Clinton Hennessy, Darragh Fives, Jerome Maher, Noel Connors, Tony Browne, Michael Walsh, Kevin Moran, Richie Foley, Stephen Molumphy, Eoin McGrath, Shane O’Sullivan, Pauric Mahony, John Mullane, Shane Walsh, Brian O’Sullivan.

Tipperary: Brendan Cummins, Paddy Stapleton, Paul Curran, Michael Cahill, John O’Keeffe, Conor O’Mahony, Padraic Maher, Gearoid Ryan, Shane McGrath, Seamus Callanan, Noel McGrath, Patrick Maher, Eoin Kelly, John O’Brien, Lar Corbett.

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel