Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 4°C
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne Shane Supple and Paddy Andrews celebrate St Brigid's win in the Dublin SFC final.
# Local Heroes
Here's everything you need to know about yesterday's Club Championship action
With a host of provincial ties and three county titles up for decision, it was another busy weekend of club football and hurling. Here’s the scoop.

Dublin SFC Final

St Brigid’s 0-10 St Oliver Plunkett’s 0-08 St Brigid’s are the Dublin champions for the first time since 2003 after seeing off Navan Road rivals St Oliver Plunkett’s. Both sides spurned a host of chances in a tight contest in Parnell Park before Brigid’s substitute Lorcan McCarthy’s three second-half points drove Brigid’s over the line.

Tipperary SFC Final

Moyle Rovers 0-07 Thomas McDonagh’s 0-09 North Tipp side Thomas McDonagh’s scored a narrow upset over Moyle Rovers yesterday, hanging on to win through a nail-biting nine minutes of stoppage time. However, as a divisional side combining players from nine smaller clubs, they’re not eligible for a spot in the Munster Club Championship and it is Rovers who progress in their place.

Galway SHC Final

Clarinbridge 1-12 0-17 Gort All-Ireland champions Clarinbridge are out of this year’s competition after they were toppled by Mattie Murphy’s Gort in Pearse Stadium yesterday. Billy Lane’s goal levelled the game at 1-11 to 0-14 with a quarter of an hour remaining, but it was Gort who had the fresher legs and kicked on to win by two.

The President-elect is a big Clarinbridge fan, by the looks of things (©INPHO/Mike Shaughnessy)

Munster Club Football Championship Quarter-Finals

Ballinacourty (Waterford) 0-07 Dr Crokes (Kerry) 3-13 If Colm Cooper’s ankle injury is giving him trouble, he certainly didn’t show it yesterday. Crokes only led Ballinacourty by two at the break yesterday before the Gooch turned the game on its head, firing home a remarkable 2-3 within the space of six minutes to take the Kerry champions into the semis.

UCC (Cork) 1-19 Monaleen (Limerick ) 2-15 It took extra-time to separate these two at Cloughduv yesterday, but in the end it was UCC who snatched victory away from their opponents. Jamie O’Sullivan forced the game into extra-time with a late free and a dominant spell in the first additional period saw them draw away from the Limerick champions.

Connacht Club Football Championship Semi-Finals

Ballintubber (Mayo) 2-07 Corofin (Galway) 1-11 Late heroics from Corofin keeper David Morris earned the Galway champions a return to the provincial final for the third time in four seasons. Morris had to react sharply to deny Ballintubber’s inter-county star Cillian O’Connor a goal at the death and Corofin held on to win by a single point.

St Brigid’s (Roscommon) 0-16 Tourlestrane (Sligo) 0-10 Senan Kilbride and Frankie Dolan combined for 10 points in Markievicz Park yesterday, helping reigning Connacht champions St Brigid’s overcome a slow start to shrug off Tourlestrane of Sligo.

Leinster Club Hurling Championship Quarter-Finals

Clonkill  (Westmeath) 1-13 Ballyboden St Enda’s (Dublin) 2-12 Clonkill pushed Ballyboden St Enda’s every step of the way yesterday but fell just short in their attempt to slay the five-time Dublin champions. Paul Ryan topped the scoring charts for Boden, six of his eight points coming from placed balls, while Conor McCormack and Simon Lambert got the goals.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Stephen Nolan of Ballyboden St Enda’s win a high ball (©INPHO/Colm O’Neill)

James Stephens (Kilkenny) 0-15 Oulart-the-Ballagh (Wexford) 2-12 Shaun Murphy and Eoin Moore were the heroes for Oulart yesterday with crucial goals either side of half-time in Nowlan Park. Next up for the Wexford champs are Clough/Ballacolla of Laois, while Ballyboden play Coolderry of Offaly in the other semi-final.

Finalists dominate camogie All Stars list

Mark McGovern: ‘It’ll be a quiet year for me’