Loughnane makes Irish team for World Championships

Cork athlete Robert Heffernan is also among the 17 athletes in the squad.

35-year-old Loughnane has been named in the squad.
35-year-old Loughnane has been named in the squad.

2009 WORLD SILVER medallist, Olive Loughnane, is among the names featuring in the Irish squad for the upcoming IAAF World Track and Field Championships in Daegu, South Korea.

The 35-year-old Loughnane has limited her activity this year in order to focus on securing another podium finish at the championships.

Elsewhere, Corkonian Robert Heffernan is named, having secured the qualification standard for the 20k and 50k walk, though he is undecided over which event he will participate in.

There had been previous doubts about Heffernan’s fitness, though the athlete dispelled these fears as he won the 10km walk during the Woodie’s DIY Senior Track and Field Championships of Ireland at the weekend.

Derval O’Rourke, meanwhile, will feature in the 100m hurdles, following her acquisition of a ninth national title with a time of 13.24.

O’Rourke is placed 17th overall in the IAFF rankings – a position she will be hoping to improve upon at the championships.

There are 17 members of the Irish squad in total competing in the championships, which take place between 27 August and 4 September.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Team Selection IAAF World Track and Field Championships: Jason Smyth (City of Derry) 100m, Paul Hession (Athenry AC) 200m, Joanne Cuddihy (KCH AC) 400m, Derval O’Rourke (Leevale AC) 100m Hurdles, Ciaran O’Lionaird (Leevale AC) 1500m, Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) 3000m Steeplechase, Stephanie O’Reilly (Sli Cualann AC) 3000m Steeplchase, Alistair Cragg (Clonliffe Harriers) 5000m, Deirdre Ryan (DSD AC) High Jump, Tori Pena (Finn Valley AC) Pole Vault, Robert Heffernan (Togher AC) 20km Walk, Olive Loughnane (Loughrea AC) 20km Walk, Colin Griffin (Ballinamore AC) 50km Walk, Women’s 4×400m Team from, Joanne Cuddihy (KCH AC), Marian Andrews-Heffernan (Togher AC), Claire Bergin (DSD AC), Michelle Carey (Dublin Striders AC), Jessie Barr (Ferrybank AC).

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: