This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 7 July, 2020

One change to Mayo team to face Dublin in Sunday's All-Ireland semi-final

Chris Barrett gets the nod to start in defence.

Mayo completed a five-in-a-row in Connacht this year.
Mayo completed a five-in-a-row in Connacht this year.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CHRIS BARRETT WILL start in defence in place of Tom Cunniffe in the only change to the Mayo team that will face Dublin in next Sunday’s All-Ireland senior football semi-final.

Cunniffe misses out after suffering a hamstring injury in the quarter-final win over Donegal.

Goalkeeper David Clarke was forced off at half-time in that game through injury with Rob Hennelly coming in to replace him.

But Clarke has been named to start on this occasion between the posts.

Clarke is one of five players selected in the starting fifteen that did not start when the counties clashed in the 2013 All-Ireland final.

Tom Parsons, Diarmuid O’Connor, Barry Moran and Jason Doherty are the other newcomers.


1. David Clarke – Ballina Stephenites

2. Ger Cafferkey – Ballina Stephenites
3. Donal Vaughan – Ballinrobe
4. Keith Higgins – Ballyhaunis (Capt.)

5. Lee Keegan – Westport
6. Chris Barrett – Belmullet
7. Colm Boyle – Davitts

8. Seamus O’Shea – Breaffy
9. Tom Parsons – Charlestown Sarsfields

10. Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber
11. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
12. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore

13. Barry Moran – Castlebar Mitchels
14. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber
15. Jason Doherty – Burrishoole

Injury setback for 2013 Cork hurling champions as Lehane is ruled out

Another Irish teenager is set to make his AFL debut in Melbourne next Saturday

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel