Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Saturday 27 February 2021

Mayo and Kildare name sides for inaugural All-Ireland U20 football final

The teams will meet in the decider tomorrow afternoon at Croke Park, where throw-in is at 1.15pm.

Mayo's Ross Egan and Jimmy Hyland of Kildare.
Mayo's Ross Egan and Jimmy Hyland of Kildare.
Image: INPHO

MAYO AND KILDARE have both selected unchanged teams for their meeting in the final of the inaugural Eirgrid U20 All-Ireland football championship.

The sides will meet tomorrow afternoon at Croke Park (1.15pm), with the game acting as the curtain-raiser to the Super 8s clash between Dublin and Roscommon.

Mayo boss Mike Solan has kept his faith in the team that started their hard-fought 2-14 to 2-11 win over Derry in the semi-final.

Davy Burke has also opted to line out with the same 15 players who began Kildare’s 1-14 to 1-13 victory against Jack O’Connor’s Kerry three weeks ago.


1. Patrick O’Malley (Westport)

2. Johnny Maughan (Castlebar Mitchels)
3. Brian O’Malley (Westport)
4. John Cunnane (Ballyhaunis)

5. Paul Lambert (Westport)
6. Cathal Horan (Kilmovee)
7. Oisin McLaughlin (Westport)

8. Evan O’Brien (Ballinrobe)
9. Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina Deel Rovers)

10. Nathan Moran (Hollymount/Carramore)
11. Ryan O’Donoghue (Belmullet — captain)
12. Tommy Conroy (The Neale)

13. Conor Diskin (Claremorris)
14. Ross Egan (Aghamore)
15. Colm Moran (Westport)


1. Aaron O’Neill (Carbury)

2. Mark Dempsey (Moorefield)
3. Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace)
4. DJ Earley (Monasterevan)

5. Darragh Ryan (Sarsfields)
6. Jason Gibbons (Kilcock)
7. Ruadhan O’Giollain (Maynooth)

8. Aaron Masterson (Moorefield — captain)
9. David Marnell (Sarsfields)

10. Stephen Comerford (Round Towers)
11. Padraig Nash (Monasterevan)
12. Tony Archbold (Celbridge)

13. Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague)
14. Brian McLoughlin (Clane)
15. Paddy Woodgate (Raheens)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel