Lee Keegan celebrates Mayo's victory Donall Farmer/INPHO
Last Four Awaits

Keegan the hero as Mayo take out 14-man Tyrone to reach All-Ireland semi-final

An All-Ireland semi-final on 21 August awaits for Tipperary.

Mayo 0-13
Tyrone 0-12

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

MAYO PUT THEMSELVES firmly in the mix for Sam Maguire in 2016 with a fantastic Lee Keegan point in the 65th minute proving the match winning score in today’s All-Ireland quarter-final against Tyrone.

The victory maintained Mayo’s progress since they were dumped out of Connacht in June and they now have an All-Ireland semi-final against Tipperary to look forward to on 21 August.

Ulster champions Tyrone suffered heartbreak after coming out of their province as kingpins with their talisman Sean Cavanagh sent-off in the 60th minute of a breathless clash at Croke Park.

Cavanagh was shown a second yellow card for a foul on Mayo’s Aidan O’Shea and Cillian O’Connor nailed the resultant free to edge Mayo in front 0-12 to 0-11.

Substitute Darren McCurry brought Tyrone level in the 64th minute before Keegan’s high hanging shot from the right wing dropped over the crossbar in front of Hill 16.

There was nearly ten minutes of action – including injury time still to unfold – but Keegan’s intervention proved the last time that the scoreboard operator was troubled.

Mayo protected their advantage by retaining possession and then got lucky as Tyrone wasted chances to draw level. Cathal McCarron notched a wide in the 68th minute, Niall Morgan was off target with a difficult long-range free in injury-time and McCurry’s accuracy was also off with another effort from play.

Aidan O’Shea celebrates Aidan O'Shea celebrates Mayo's win Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

The victory was a huge boost to Mayo. They began at a steady pace and showed no ill-effects from having played in Croke Park last Saturday against Westmeath. The influence of Alan Dillon and Andy Moran helped them forge a 0-3 to 0-1 lead as by the 16th minute as Tyrone were frustrated.

But Tyrone recovered with Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte becoming dominant performers in the match. It was a Harte free that tied the match at 0-5 apiece by the 26th minute and a great Donnelly score in the 33rd minute that sent Tyrone 0-7 to 0-5 clear.

Crucially Mayo drew level at the break. Cillian O’Connor’s reliability from placed balls was key and Colm Boyle screwed over a sublime effort from play.

Sean Cavanagh is sent off for a challenge on Aidan O'Shea Sean Cavanagh reacts after fouling Mayo's Aidan O'Shea Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

The second-half was tight, tense and fiercely contested. Mayo made an initial burst to forge a 0-10 to 0-8 lead as O’Connor hit a brace, Tom Parsons struck one and Harte offered Tyrone’s solitary reply.

But Mickey Harte’s side cranked up the gears. Conor McAliskey nailed a pair of frees and another Harte score left them 0-11 to 0-10 in front at the midway mark of the second-half.

However they would only score once more in the remainder of the game. Mayo only managed three points themselves but each one was critical with Keegan (54), O’Connor (60) and Keegan again (65) supplying them.

The dismissal of Cavanagh hurt Tyrone and Stephen Rochford’s men consolidated to force victory.

Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O’Connor 0-7 (0-4f), Lee Keegan 0-2, Andy Moran, Aidan O’Shea, Colm Boyle, Tom Parsons 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Peter Harte 0-4 (0-2f), Mattie Donnelly 0-3, Conor McAliskey 0-2 (0-2f), Niall Sludden, Ronan O’Neill (0-1f), Darren McCurry (0-1f) 0-1 each.

inpho_01090520 Mayo's Cillian O'Connor and Tyrone's Mattie Donnelly


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)

6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)

12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
24. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)

15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
22. Alan Dillon (Ballintubber)


18. Tom Parsons (Charlestown) for Dillon (half-time)
23. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy) for Vaughan (54)
17. Chris Barrett (Belmullet) for Boyle (57)
13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites) for Moran (62)
26. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina) for Doherty (66)
19. Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore) for Diarmuid O’Connor (68)


1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciarán)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran)
4. Cathal McCarron (Dromore)

5. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
6. Justin McMahon (Omagh)
7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)

8. Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)

10. Cathal McShane (Eoghan Roe O’Neill)
11. Niall Sludden (Dromore)
12. Ronan McNabb (Dromore)

13. Connor McAliskey (Clonoe)
14. Sean Cavanagh (Captain – Moy)
15. Ronan O’Neill (Omagh)


18. Rory Brennan (Trillick) for McMahon (22)
22. Darren McCurry (Edendork) for O’Neill (45)
17. Mark Bradley (Killyclogher) for McShane (46)
23. Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy) for McAliskey (65)
25. Jonathan Monroe (Carrickmore) for McNabb (66)
24. Padraig McNulty (Dungannon) for Sludden (68)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Kerry are All-Ireland junior football champions again as they see off Mayo

Dublin and Limerick both make changes for All-Ireland minor hurling semi-final

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.