This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 19 November, 2019

Second win in a week for Meath after O'Byrne Cup triumph

Mick O’Dowd’s men overcame Armagh at Páirc Tailteann.

Mickey Newman scored 1-4 in Navan today.
Mickey Newman scored 1-4 in Navan today.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Meath 1-10
Armagh 0-8

MICKEY NEWMAN BLASTED 1-4 at Pairc Tailteann as Meath secured their second significant win at the Navan venue in a week.

The Royals saw off Longford there last weekend in the Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup final and claimed and even more impressive win over Armagh to ignite their Allianz Football League Division 2 promotion bid.

A strong second-half performance was the platform for the win over an Armagh side that failed to score a single point after the break as they struggled with the high winds and driving rain.

Kieran McGeeney’s visitors also lost half-back Aidan Forker to a second yellow card in the 66th minute.

Armagh didn’t reach the knockout stages of their pre-season competition but did beat Cavan and Monaghan in the McKenna Cup so approached the game with some momentum and surged three points clear after five minutes.

But Newman’s 10th-minute Meath goal hauled the hosts back. It wasn’t a thing of beauty as the Kilmainham attacker lost and regained possession during a barnstorming run but his low finish was clinical.

It was tense from there on with the sides level twice before Armagh took a narrow 0-8 to 1-4 half-time lead.

Gavin McParland and Miceal McKenna hit a brace of points each for Armagh but they also enjoyed a strong wind advantage and, perhaps, hadn’t taken full advantage.

That feeling was confirmed in the second-half as Meath first levelled the game with another Newman point before moving ominously clear.

It wasn’t classic football from Meath in testing conditions but they pulled clear late on with substitution Sean Tobin firing over three fine points from tricky frees.

Scorers for Meath: Mickey Newman 1-4 (0-3f), Sean Tobin 0-3 (0-3f), Cillian O’Sullivan 0-2, Donal Keogan 0-1

Scorers for Armagh: Gavin McParland and Miceal McKenna 0-2 each, Colm Watters, Stefan Campbell, Ethan Rafferty and Stefan Forker 0-1 each.


1. Paddy O’Rourke (Skryne)

2. Donal Keogan (Rathkenny)
3. Conor McGill (Ratoath)
4. Mickey Burke (Longwood)

7. Cathal Finn (Dunboyne)
6. Padraic Harnan (Moynalvey)
9. Brian Power (Ratoath)

12. Andrew Tormey (Donaghmore Ashbourne)
8. Harry Rooney (Skryne)

5. Darragh Smyth (Navan O’Mahonys)
11. Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey)
20. James McEntee (Curraha)

13. Bryan McMahon (Ratoath)
14. Michael Newman (Kilmainham)
15. Donal Lenihan (Dunboyne)

17. Sean Tobin (Simonstown Gaels) for Lenihan (41)
25. Conor Downey (Na Fianna) for McMahon (52)
21. Ruairi O Coileain (Navan O’Mahonys) for Smyth (66)
23. Alan Douglas (Trim) for Finn (73)


1. Matthew McNeice (Eanach Mor)

5. Shea Heffron (Clann Eireann)
3. Charlie Vernon (Clairsigh Ard Mhacha)
2. Ruairi McCaughey (De Bhulbh Ton)

12. Stefan Forker (Machaire)
7. Aidan Forker (Machaire)
4. Mark Shields (An Chrois Bhan)

6. Brendan Donaghy (An Chluain Mhor)
19. Stephen Sheridan (Foirceall)

10. Stefan Campbell (Clan na Gael)
11. Miceal McKenna (An Ghrainseach)
14. Ciaran O’Hanlon (Cill Shleibhe)

23. Ethan Rafferty (An Ghrainseach)
20. Colm Watters (Baile Mhic Cullach)
13. Gavin McParland (Baile Mhic an Aba)

8. Aaron Findon (Naomh Peadar) for Sheridan (h/t)
15. Eugene McVerry (An Mullach Ban) for McParland (h/t)
22. Joe McElroy (Clairsigh Ard Mhacha) for Shields (50)
17. Sean Connell (Coilleach Eanach) for Donaghy (52)
18. Niall McConville (Naomh Peadar) for Watters (57)
9. Niall Grimley (Na Madain) for McKenna (73, Black card)

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).

Cork footballers off to flying league start with nine-point win over Mayo

Cork turn to Nemo Rangers man as new senior football captain for 2016

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: