INPHO/Donall Farmer Anthony Tohill.
# Go time
Men at work: Tohill names International Rules panel
Thirty-one man squad will be cut by eight before departure for Australia.

IRELAND’S INTERNATIONAL RULES manager Anthony Tohill has named a 31-man preliminary squad for the trip down under.

The panel will be cut by eight before the departure date of 22 October.

Among those selected are recently-retired Sydney Swans star Tadhg Kennelly as well as fellow Rules veterans Stephen Cluxton, Kevin Reilly and Stephen McDonnell.

Cluxton is the only member of Dublin’s All-Ireland-winning side included while Kennelly is one of six Aussie Rules stars named in the squad.

“We are very happy with the panel that has been assembled and with the mood within the squad,” said Tohill today.

“Those who have trained with us have applied themselves diligently and are looking forward to the challenge of regaining the Cormac McAnallen trophy. A number of other players were approached to join the training panel but were unable to do so due to injury and other commitments.

“The selectors and I are working our way through the difficult job of cutting the training panel to the required number of 23. Players not selected in the final 23 will be on standby. ” he  added.

Ireland will play Australia in games in Etihad Stadium Melbourne, on 28 October and the Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast on 4 November.

Full squad: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Rob Kelly (Kildare), Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Colm Begley (Laois), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Karl Lacey (Donegal), Neil McGee (Donegal), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Steven McDonnell (Armagh), Ciarán McKeever (Armagh), Danny Hughes (Down), Kevin McKernan (Down), Joe McMahon (Tyrone), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Finian Hanley (Galway), Donal Vaughan (Mayo), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Aidan Walsh (Cork), Patrick Kelly (Cork), Tomas O’Connor (Kildare), Eamon Callaghan (Kildare), Kieran Donaghy (Kerry), Darran O’Sullivan (Kerry), Tommy Walsh (Kerry/St Kilda), Michael Quinn (Longford /Essendon), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry/Sydney Swans), Zach Touhy (Laois – Carlton), Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans), Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions)

Here’s your 2011 camogie All-Star nominees

WATCH: Home thoughts for intercounty stars ahead of club assignments

All-Star Brosnan expresses relief at Ryan decision

Your Voice
Readers Comments