This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 3 April, 2020


9,336 Views 4 Comments

Hello and welcome the The42′s coverage of the 2017 Leinster Club SFC final between Moorefield (Kildare) and St Loman’s (Westmeath).

Throw-in is at 2pm in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise and we will be taking you through the live coverage of the game.

As always, we want to hear from you, so if you want to share your opinions or observations of the game, post them in the comment section below or tweet @Shin_Farrell.

We’ll have team line-ups coming up shortly.

St Loman’s (Westmeath)

1. Jason Daly

2. Neil O’Toole
3. Jason O’Toole
4. Gerry Grehan

5. Gary Glennon
6. Paddy Dowdall
7. David Whelan

8. Paul Sharry
9. Seán Flanagan

10. Kevin Reilly
11. Ronan O’Toole
12. David Windsor

13. Ken Casey
14. John Heslin (Captain)
15. Shane Dempsey

Moorefield (Kildare)

1. Tom Kinsella

2. Liam Callaghan
3. Liam Healy
4. Seán Healy

5. Kevin Murnaghan
6. James Murray
7. Mark Dempsey

8. Dayrl Flynn (Captain)
9. Aaron Masterson

10. Ian Meehan
11. Eddie Heavey
12. Aaron Mullins

13. Eanna O’Connor
14. Ronan Sweeney
15. Niall Hurley Lynch

The teams are standing for the national anthem. Throw-in is just a few moments away.

What are your predictions? Let us know in the comment section below.

And we are underway in O’Moore Park


No scores yet as both teams test each other out.


Moorefield 0-01  0-00 St Loman’s

Sweeney feeds O’Connor of Moorefield and we have our first score of the afternoon.


Moorefield 0-01  0-01 St Loman’s

And the Westmeath champions have the equaliser after 10 minutes. There’s some fog in Laois though.


Moorefield 0-01 0-02 St Loman’s 

Paul Sharry edges Loman’s into the lead with a nice point.


Moorefield 0-01 0-02 St Loman’s

Wasted opportunity from Loman’s. Some nice interplay up the field results in the ball dropping into the keeper’s hands.


Moorefield 0-02 0-02 St Loman’s

Eanna O’Connor levels up proceedings with a close-range free.


Moorefield 0-02 0-03 St Loman’s

Ken Casey restores the lead for Loman’s after 18 minutes. He cut inside his man and swung the shot over the bar.


Moorefield 0-04 0-03 St Loman’s

O’Connor levels it, and Ronan Sweeney fists a point to put Moorefield one up.


Moorefield 0-06 0-03 St Loman’s 

Seán Flanagan (Loman’s) and Aaron Masterson (Moorefield) both receive yellow card as the Kildare champions extend their advantage to two points.

O’Connor pops up with another point to put them three clear.


Moorefield 0-06 0-04 St Loman’s 

An important score there for Loman’s to break Moorefield’s momentum. Kevin Reilly handpasses it over the bar.


Moorefield 0-06 0-04 St Loman’s

Post!! Eanna O’Connor’s free looked like it was heading over the bar, but comes back off the post.

St Loman’s have made a substitution: Kieran Lynam on for Seán Flanagan.


Moorefield 0-07 0-04 St Loman’s

Centre-back James Murray kicks a great score for the Kildare outfit to put them three points in front again with half-time approaching.


One minute of added time to be played

Flag 31Mins

HT: Moorefield lead St Loman’s by three points in the Leinster Club SFC final.

Jason O’Toole tries to get the ball away from Moorefield’s Eanna O’Connor.

Jason O'Toole and Eanna O'Connor 17/12/2017 Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


And the second half is underway!


Moorefield 0-07 0-05 St Loman’s 

Great start to the second half for Loman’s as Ken Casey swings the ball over to bring the deficit back to two.

Flag 33Mins

Moorefield 0-07 0-05 St Loman’s

Close!! Loman’s looked to be through for a goal but Moorefield keeper Tom Kinsella did very well to get his body over the ball.


Moorefield 0-07 0-06 St Loman’s 

John Heslin hits a free to make it a one-point game.

Flag 36Mins

Moorefield 0-07 0-07 St Loman’s

And we’re level again in O’Moore park. Loman’s have started the second half brilliantly.


Moorefield 0-07 1-07 St Loman’s

Goal!! Ken Casey with a low strike that is deflected into the net by Kinsella. The Westmeath champions have completely turned this game on its head.


Moorefield 0-08 1-07 St Loman’s

Great response from Moorefield. Just two points separate the sides again.


Moorefield 0-08 1-08 St Loman’s 

Great score from Ronan O’Toole. Hits it with conviction after some excellent build-up play from Loman’s.


Moorefield 0-08 1-09 St Loman’s 

With less than 15 minutes to go, Loman’s have gone from three points down to four points up.


Moorefield 0-09 1-09 St Loman’s 

O’Connor keeps Moorefield in touch with another well taken free.


Moorefield 0-09 1-09 St Loman’s 

Mark Dempsey of Loman’s is receiving treatment at the moment as tempers flare slightly.

Flag 51Mins

Moorefield 0-09 1-10 St Loman’s

Cracking score from Loman’s Paul Sharry. He strikes the ball on the run and sends it sailing over the bar.

Inspirational score at this point of the game.


Moorefield 0-10 1-10 St Loman’s

The Kildare side are still in contention as they hit another point.

Flag 54Mins

Moorefield 0-10 2-10 St Loman’s

GOAL!! Ronan O’Toole hits an absolute screamer from close range to put this contest very much in Loman’s favour.

Six minutes of normal time to go.


Moorefield 0-10 2-10 St Loman’s 

Eddie Heavy aims for the goals from distance but he drills the shot wide.


Moorefield 0-11 2-10 St Loman’s 

Eanna O’Connor pops over another free to leave five between them. Will they have enough time to engineer a few more scores?


Five minutes additional time coming up.


Moorefield 1-11 2-10 St Loman’s

GOAL!! This ain’t over yet. Moorefield have brought the difference back to two in injury time.

Flag 63Mins

Moorefield 1-13 2-10 St Loman’s

LEVEL!! O’Connor hits two points on the bounce and we are level in injury time.

What a game!!

Moorefield 1-14 2-10 St Loman’s 

Kevin Murnaghan wins it for Moorefiled!!! Eanna O’Connor’s free drops into the danger area and falls to Murnaghan who hits it over on the turn.

About the author:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel