This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 16 September, 2019

Munster duo to miss Heineken Cup pool stages

David Wallace and Felix Jones have been ruled out European action until the new year, while there was a surprise recall for one old favourite.

Image: David Davies/PA Wire/Press Association Images

DAVID WALLACE AND Felix Jones will play no part in Munster’s Heineken Cup challenge until the knockout rounds as they continue to recover from long-term injuries.

The injured pair were left out of Tony McGahan’s 38-man panel for the pool stages, announced by the province this morning ahead of the tournament opener against Northampton on 12 November.

But veteran prop John Hayes, who many felt would retire at the end of last season, has been included as temporary cover for a depleted front row.

Hooker Jerry Flannery is still recovering from the calf injury which forced him to return home from the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand, while props Peter Borlase and Darragh Hurley are still struggling with knee and Achilles’ problems respectively.

All three are expected to resume full training in the coming weeks and could be subbed into the squad after the second round of pool games under ERC regulations.

Eight Heinken Cup newcomers have been included in the Munster panel, including scrum-half Conor Murray who only featured in the Amlin Challenge Cup last season.

He is joined by fellow Academy graduates Simon Zebo and Sean Henry, winger Dave O’Callaghan, and new recruits Ian Keatley, BJ Botha and Will Chambers.

Development prop John Ryan, who made his Pro12 debut as a substitute against the Cardiff Blues last month, is also included.

Munster Heineken Cup Squad: Scott Deasy, Doug Howlett, Denis Hurley, Johne Murphy, Simon Zebo, Danny Barnes, Will Chambers, Tom Gleeson, Keith Earls, Lifeimi Mafi, Ronan O’Gara, Ian Keatley, Tomas O’Leary, Conor Murray, Duncan Williams, Peter Stringer, Denis Fogarty, Damien Varley, Michael Sherry, Sean Henry, Marcus Horan, John Hayes, Stephen Archer, Wian du Preez, BJ Botha, John Ryan, Paul O’Connell, Donncha O’Callaghan, Michael O’Driscoll, Ian Nagle, Donnacha Ryan, Niall Ronan, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony, Dave O’Callaghan, Denis Leamy, James Coughlan.

ABs to spin some tunes as ‘hurt’ unifies under-fire France

As it happened: Australia v Wales

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: