Donall Farmer/INPHO Deysel in training at UL last week.
Round 4

Deysel injection for Munster, but Murray still missing for Glasgow clash

The Springbok will start in the back row of a much-changed Munster line-up.

RASSIE ERASMUS HAS made 10 changes to his team after last weekend’s tough, but convincing, win over Toulouse in the Champions Cup.

Tomorrow’s clash with Glasgow Warriors (19.35, TG4) will see Springbok Jean Deysel make his first appearance for the southern province, he starts in the back row alongside Jack O’Donoghue and Conor Oliver.

Against the team who prompted Conor Murray to speak out against the way he was being targeted, the scrum-half is again sidelined after missing Ireland’s final Six Nations game and the European quarter-final with a shoulder injury.

Duncan Williams continues in the number nine jersey in his place, with Tyler Bleyendaal at out-half as Francis Saili and Jaco Taute form a midfield partnership from the start for the first time.

Jack O’Donoghue and Francis Saili Dan Sheridan / INPHO O'Donoghue and Saili celebrate the win over Toulouse. Dan Sheridan / INPHO / INPHO

2015 champions Glasgow are 10 points off Ulster in the play-off places, but will be keen to bounce back from their defeat to Saracens last weekend when they go to Cork for a fourth meeting with Munster this season.

“We didn’t get things right last weekend against Saracens,” says Warriors boss Gregor Townsend, “but things move on pretty quickly in sport and we now have an opportunity to show a true reflection of the rugby we are capable of playing. We are determined to deliver a much better performance over in Cork. ”


15. Andrew Conway
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Francis Saili
12. Jaco Taute
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Tyler Bleyendaal
9. Duncan Williams

1. James Cronin
2. Rhys Marshall
3. Stephen Archer
4. Dave O’Callaghan
5. Billy Holland (Capt).
6. Jean Deysel
7. Conor Oliver
8. Jack O’Donoghue


16. Niall Scannell
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. John Ryan
19. Donnacha Ryan
20. Peter O’Mahony
21. Angus Lloyd
22. Rory Scannell
23. Simon Zebo


15. Stuart Hogg
14. Tommy Seymour
13. Nick Grigg
12. Alex Dunbar
11. Lee Jones
10. Finn Russell
9. Ali Price

1. Gordon Reid
2. Fraser Brown
3. Sila Puafisi
4. Brian Alainu’uese
5. Jonny Gray (Capt.)
6. Rob Harley
7. Ryan Wilson
8. Adam Ashe


16. Pat MacArthur
17. Alex Allan
18. D’arcy Rae
19. Scott Cummings
20. Chris Fusaro
21. Henry Pyrgos
22. Peter Horne
23. Rory Hughes

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Beauden Barrett red carded as Hurricanes win 10-try treat against Waratahs

Saracens on the horizon ‘a little driver’ for O’Donoghue as he takes aim at Glasgow

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.