Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Friday 16 April 2021

Return of Darren Sweetnam among 5 changes for Munster

Dave Kilcoyne, Tommy O’Donnell, Rory Scannell and Andrew Conway have all been released from Ireland camp to start against Dragons.

Rassie Erasmus Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus on the training ground at UL this week. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

THE MUNSTER TEAM to play Newport Gwent Dragons in the Guinness Pro12 tomorrow night at Musgrave Park shows five changes in personnel from last weekend’s away win against Edinburgh [KO 7.35pm, TG4].

Darren Sweetnam will make his first appearance for the table toppers since sustaining a knee injury during December’s win against Leinster. Dave Kilcoyne, Tommy O’Donnell, Rory Scannell and Andrew Conway have all been released from Ireland camp to start against the Welsh side, who languish in 10th place having won just four of their 13 games so far.

Three of the Munster changes are in the backline. With Conway starting at 15, Jaco Taute moves back into midfield alongside Scannell. Francis Saili and Dan Goggin drop to the bench. Sweetnam starts on the wing in place of Calvin Nash, who’s in Italy with the Ireland U20s.

Kilcoyne comes into the front row at the expense of Peter McCabe, while Conor Oliver makes way in the back row for O’Donnell.

Darren Sweetnam Darren Sweetnam Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO


15. Andrew Conway
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Jaco Taute
12. Rory Scannell
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Tyler Bleyendaal (captain)
9. Duncan Williams

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Rhys Marshall
3. Stephen Archer
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Dave Foley
6. Dave O’Callaghan
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. Jack O’Donoghue


16. Kevin O’Byrne
17. Peter McCabe
18. Brian Scott
19. Darren O’Shea
20. Conor Oliver
21. Abrie Griesel
22. Francis Saili
23. Dan Goggin

Newport Gwent Dragons:

15. Carl Meyer
14. Adam Hughes
13. Tyler Morgan
12. Adam Warren
11. Pat Howard
10. Dorian Jones
9. Tavis Knoyle

1. Sam Hobbs
2. Rhys Buckley
3. Brok Harris
4. Matthew Screech
5. Rynard Landman
6. Ollie Griffiths
7. Nic Cudd
8. Lewis Evans (captain)


16. Elliot Dee
17. Thomas Davies
18. Lloyd Fairbrother
19. Nick Crosswell
20. Harrison Keddie
21. Sarel Pretorius
22. Angus O’Brien
23. Sam Beard

Former All Black Saili wants to stay with Munster

Calvin Nash starts for Ireland U20s on the back of senior Munster debut

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: