Thursday 9 February 2023 Dublin: 2°C
# Red Army
Keatley back in at 10 as Munster ring the changes for tough trip to Glasgow
Rassie Erasmus has made six personnel changes to his team for tomorrow night’s game at Scotstoun Stadium.

Rassie Erasmus Donall Farmer / INPHO Munster Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

PETER O’MAHONY WILL be back to captain Munster tomorrow night as they aim to tighten their grip on top spot in the Guinness Pro12.

The southern province, who lead Leinster by a point at the summit of the table, will take on fifth-placed Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium [KO 7.35pm, TG4].

Having played for Ireland in last weekend’s victory over Australia, O’Mahony returns to the Munster jersey to lead the team from blindside flanker. He’s joined in the back-row by Tommy O’Donnell — who’ll be making his 100th Pro12 appearance – at openside, and Jack O’Donoghue at number eight. Robin Copeland drops to the bench.

In total, Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus has made six personnel changes from Saturday’s trouncing of Treviso, with locks Jean Kleyn and Billy Holland coming in for Dave Foley and Darren O’Shea, and Niall Scannell returning at hooker in place of Rhys Marshall. Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan retain their places in the front-row.

In the backs, there’s no sign of Tyler Bleyendaal in the matchday squad so Ian Keatley starts at half-back alongside Duncan Williams. Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam and Ronan O’Mahony form the back-three again, but Rory Scannell returns at centre at the expense of Sam Arnold, who made his first start for Munster against Treviso.

Peter O'Mahony celebrates the final whistle Morgan Treacy / INPHO Munster captain Peter O'Mahony came off the bench for Ireland in Saturday's win against the Wallabies. Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Donnacha Ryan is among the replacements, as is 23-year-old Kiwi scrum-half Te Aihe Toma, who’ll be making his competetive debut for the province if called upon.

Munster will be aiming for their sixth consecutive victory tomorrow night when they face Glasgow. That run of wins started against the same opposition in October when they delivered a superb performance to record a 38-17 triumph in the European Champions Cup — just six days after the untimely passing of head coach Anthony Foley.


15. Andrew Conway
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Jaco Taute
12. Rory Scannell
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Ian Keatley
9. Duncan Williams

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Niall Scannell
3. John Ryan
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Billy Holland
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. Jack O’Donoghue


16. Rhys Marshall
17. Thomas du Toit
18. Stephen Archer
19. Donnacha Ryan
20. Robin Copeland
21. Te Aihe Toma
22. Dan Goggin
23. Alex Wootton

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Glasgow Warriors:

15. Peter Murchie
14. Rory Hughes
13. Nick Grigg
12. Mark Bennett
11. Tommy Seymour
10. Peter Horne
9. Ali Price

1. Gordon Reid
2. Fraser Brown
3. Sila Puafisi
4. Tim Swinson
5. Rob Harley
6. Josh Strauss
7. Chris Fusaro
8. Ryan Wilson (captain)


16. Corey Flynn
17. Alex Allan
18. D’arcy Rae
19. Rob McAlpine
20. Langilangi Haupeakui
21. Nemia Kenatale
22. Rory Clegg
23. Lee Jones

Welsh international Hook returning home after spells with Perpignan and Gloucester

Done deal! Devin Toner signs new three-year contract with IRFU to stay at Leinster

Your Voice
Readers Comments