Wednesday 8 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO Zebo is back for his first appearance of the season.
# stars return
Zebo starts for Munster as Donnacha Ryan returns to the bench
New signing Mario Sagario is in line to make his debut

MUNSTER WELCOME BACK Simon Zebo and Donnacha Ryan to their matchday squad for tomorrow night’s first derby of the season.

Anthony Foley’s side will look to bounce back from their first defeat of the season when they face Ulster at Thomond Park, and have made seven changes from last Friday’s late defeat to the Scarlets in Wales.

Following Felix Jones’ premature retirement yesterday, Andrew Conway has been handed the number 15 jersey tomorrow night.

Simon Zebo returns from the World Cup to replace Stephen Fitzgerald on the wing, while Francis Saili comes into outside centre in place of David Johnston.

Ian Keatley continues at out-half having replaced Tyler Bleyendaal before kick-off in Wales, while Tomás O’Leary starts for the first time since his return to the province.

In the pack, James Cronin comes in for Dave Kilcoyne, while Mike Sherry starts at hooker. BJ Botha is at tighthead, but new signing Mario Sagario is on the bench, and is in line to make his debut.

Dave Foley starts in the second row alongside Mark Chisholm, while Robin Copeland returns at number eight, having played in the second row last week.

CJ Stander and Jack O’Donoghue are on the flanks with Jordan Coghlan on the bench, alongside Donnacha Ryan, who is returning from World Cup duty.

Munster (v Ulster)

15. Andrew Conway

14. Simon Zebo

13. Francis Saili

12. Denis Hurley

11. Gerhard van den Heever

10. Ian Keatley

9. Tomás O’Leary


1. James Cronin

2. Mike Sherry

3. BJ Botha

4. Dave Foley

5. Mark Chisholm

6. CJ Stander  (capt)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

7. Jack O’Donoghue

8. Robin Copeland.


16. Duncan Casey

17. John Ryan

18. Mario Sagario

19. Donnacha Ryan

20. Jordan Coghlan

21. Duncan Williams

22. Rory Scannell

23. Ronan O’Mahony.

Your Voice
Readers Comments