Michael Heffernan, who shot 0-8 for Eire Og Nenagh (file photo). INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Eire Og Nenagh qualify for Tipperary senior hurling final

There was also action in the Tipperary senior football quarter-finals today.

Nenagh Éire Óg 1-17
Kildangan 0-12

NENAGH Éire Óg are through to a first Clean Ireland Recycling Tipperary senior hurling championship final since 2006.

The Blues beat north divisional rivals Kildangan by eight points in an at times ill-tempered replay at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

3,425 spectators watched Nenagh, whose one and only county title was achieved back in 1995, set up a final meeting with Loughmore-Castleiney in Thurles next Sunday.

Kildangan, who came from nine points down in the drawn match to force a replay, were outclassed at the second time of asking.

After Ritchie Flannery netted for Nenagh, in the 21st minute, a sense of inevitablity descended on proceedings.

Nenagh, bolstered by the prowess of Mikey Heffernan from play and placed balls, were never in trouble from that moment onwards.

At half-time, they led by seven points, 1-10 to 0-6, and the second half was a procession for the winners against a Kildangan side that didn’t score from play until just before half-time.

Referee Keith Delahunty issued yellow cards to seven players – including five Kildangan – and both sides were fortunate to finish with their full compliment of players in a game pockmarked by some nasty off-the-ball incidents.

Scorers for Kildangan: Ruairí Gleeson 0-7 (6f), Darragh Egan (f), Joe Gallagher, Eoin Gleeson, Paul Flynn & Jack Loughnane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Nenagh: Michael Heffernan 0-8 (3f, 1 65) Kevin Tucker 0-5 (3f), Ritchie Flannery 1-1, Paddy Murphy 0-2, Paul Ryan 0-1.

KILDANGAN: Darragh Egan; David Sweeney, Martin Minehan, Fergal Hayes; Hughie Flannery, Gerry Slattery, Gary Byrne; Jack Loughnane, Tommy Connors; Willie Connors, Joe Gallagher, Eoin Kelly; Tadhg Gallagher, Ruairí Gleeson, Dan Hackett.

Subs: Eoin Gleeson for Tommy Connors (29), Brian Kelly for Hayes (h.t.), Paul Flynn for Kelly (48), Paraic Kelly for Hackett (54).

NENAGH ÉIRE ÓG: Michael McNamara; Mark Flannery, Noel Moloney, Daire Quinn; Barry Heffernan, Hugh Moloney, Billy Heffernan; John Brennan, Kevin Tucker; Paul Ryan, Michael Heffernan, Pearse Morris; Andrew Coffey, Ritchie Flannery, Paddy Murphy.

Subs: James Mackey for Morris (49), Killian Gleeson for Ryan (51), Alan Kelly for Coffey (57).

Referee: Keith Delahunty (Moyle Rovers).


Tipperary SFC Quarter-Finals

HOLDERS Clonmel Commercials blasted out an ominous statement of intent as they blitzed Éire Óg Annacarty by 14 points to reach the semi-finals of the Clean Ireland Recycling Tipperary senior football championship on Sundayafternoon.

Commercials ran out 1-20 to 1-6 winners at Leahy Park in Cashel, with 1-16 of that tally coming from play.

Jason Lonergan scored the Commercials goal in the 12th minute to hand the winners an early initiative but by half-time, Éire Óg were still in contention as they trailed by just three points, 0-5 to 1-5.

But Commercials, with Ian Barnes particularly impressive up front, ran riot in the second half and not even a consolation goal from Jeremy Furlong could overshadow this comprehensive win.


Jason Lonergan (file photo)
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

Elsewhere, there was a surprise as JK Brackens stunned Moyle Rovers by a point, 0-8 to 1-4.

Inspired by county minor duar star Colin O’Riordan, JK Brackens beat the seven-time county champions by the bare minimum.

Brackens led by 0-3 to 0-2 at half-time and had surged 0-8 to 0-3 clear before Conor Conneally’s goal dragged Rovers back into contention. But Brackens held out for a famous win and a spot in the last four.

In the West derby, Aherlow Gaels defeated Galtee Rovers/St Pecaun by 2-8 to 0-6. The sides were level at 0-5 apiece at half-time but Thomas ‘Cooper’ Fahey scored two second half penalty goals to ease Aherlow through.

And last Friday evening, Loughmore-Castleiney, who will contest next Sunday’s county senior hurling final, ensured that they will also compete in the county football semi-finals by defeating Arravale Rovers by a single point after extra-time in Clonoulty.

Pearse Richardson’s first half goal had Arravale 1-5 to 0-5 ahead at half-time but the Tipperary town outfit needed Shane Leahy’s fisted point to take the game to extra time, 1-9 to 0-12.

Inspired by dual All-Ireland minor medallist John McGrath (brother of Tipp senior hurler Noel), Loughmore held their nerve in extra-time to edge home with just a point to spare, on a 0-16 to 1-12 scoreline. McGrath contributed 0-6 of Loughmore’s winning tally.

All-Ireland champions St Brigid’s complete Roscommon 4-in-a-row

Kilcormac-Killoughey retain Offaly senior hurling crown

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.