©INPHO/Billy Stickland Mike McCarthy and Paul O'Connell at the end of last season's summer Test against England.
# West's awake
O'Connell still a major doubt as Kidney calls up Connacht lock McCarthy
The Ireland squad to tour New Zealand has been finalised and now includes Chris Henry, Paul Marshall, Mike McCarthy and Ronan Loughney.

THE IRELAND SQUAD to face New Zealand in three Test matches this June has been finalised and several new faces will make the journey to the home of the World Cup winners.

Connacht’s representation in the 30-man squad has been increased from one to three after the inclusion of prop Ronan Loughney and lock Mike McCarthy.

McCarthy, who made his debut against Scotland last summer, will travel to New Zealand as ‘precautionary cover’ for Paul O’Connell.

O’Connell sustained a knee injury in a RaboDirect Pro 12 match against Ulster.

The final decision on his tour participation will be made on Friday.

Ulster boost

Ulster’s fine season has seen further reward after back-row Chris Henry was deemed fit to travel and scrum-half Paul Marshall steps in to the slot reserved for the injured Isaac Boss.

An IRFU statement read, “Chris Henry and Brett Wilkinson both came through the game after recent injury concerns and will take their places among the forwards.” The statement continued:

There are also two further uncapped players making the trip … with scrumhalf Paul Marshall named in the squad along with prop Ronan Loughney, who will be providing further cover for the front row including Mike Ross who is currently recovering from a hamstring strain.

There was no late call-up for Ulster winger Graig Gilroy despite his two-try performance for Ireland against the Barbarians on Tuesday evening.

The Ireland team will depart from London for New Zealand on Thursday morning.

Ireland Squad (New Zealand Tour 2012 with test matches on June 9, 16 and 23):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon /Ulster)*
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)
Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
Ronan Loughney (Galwegians/Connacht)*
Kevin McLaughlin (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster)*
Dan Tuohy (Ballymena /Ulster)
Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht)*

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

*Denotes uncapped player

In pictures: Ireland sign off before New Zealand trip with defeat in Gloucester

Cave hoping to cap ‘best couple months of my life’ with New Zealand win