Donegal native Philip Deignan. Dan Sheridan/INPHO
Tour de France

Philip Deignan left out of Team Sky's Tour de France squad

Oh, and former yellow jersey winner Bradley Wiggins is also out.

IRISH RIDER Philip Deignan has not made Team Sky’s Tour de France team.

Director sportif Dave Brailsford announced his line-up on Sky Sports earlier.

It will be the omission of former champion Bradley Wiggins that will grab the headlines however.

Wiggins, who won the race in 2012 — the same year he took Olympic time-trial gold — had long been resigned to being omitted from a team now built around Chris Froome, last year’s Tour de France winner.

“It was a very tough decision,” said Brailsford. “Bradley’s been a great champion.”

Wiggins, who in winning the race two years ago became Britain’s first Tour de France champion, is now expected to turn his attention to competing at next month’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Froome will be supported by his long-time right hand man Richie Porte in a nine-strong Sky team which also includes Geraint Thomas, Mikel Nieve, Bernhard Eisel, Vasil Kiryienka, David Lopez, Danny Pate and Xabier Zandio.

The 21-stage race begins on 5 July in Leeds, northern England and will conclude on July 27 in Paris.

Tour de France marks World War I centennial

Paul Scholes says Shaw mega-move to United ‘silly’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.