Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 18 January 2022

Poll: who should win RTÉ's Sports Person of the Year Award?

The nominations are in ahead of the awards ceremony on Sunday week. Here’s your shortlist…

Image: boscobridalexpos via Flickr

IT’S THAT TIME of the year again.

RTÉ today released the shortlist for this year’s Sports Person of the Year Award, the Team of the Year award and a new award, the Manager of the Year.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on RTÉ One on Sunday, 18 December at 9.30pm.

So here, ladies and gentlemen, are your nominees:  Darren Clarke, winner of the British Open; Michael Fennelly, GAA GPA All Star and Hurler of the Year; Sean O’Brien, Heineken Cup winner and ERC European player of the year; Katie Taylor, five-time European Amateur Boxing Champion; Rory McIlroy, world number two and US Open champion; John Joe Nevin, Olympic hopeful and World Amateur Boxing Bronze medalist; Kevin O’Brien, Ireland’s record breaking cricket hero; Alan Brogan, GAA GPA Footballer of the year; and Robbie Keane, the Republic of Ireland’s captain and  record goalscorer.

The RTÉ Sports Team of the Year shortlist includes: European champions, Leinster; Dublin’s footballers; Ladies football kingpins, Cork; Ireland’s soccer team, Shamrock Rovers; Kilkenny’s hurlers; camogie champions, Wexford and the country’s Cricket World Cup heroes.

Brian Cody; Wexford camogie manager, JJ Doyle; Hoops boss, Michael O’Neill; IABI High Performance Unit coach, Billy Walsh; the Heineken Cup winning Joe Schmidt; Giovanni Trapattoni; Dublin football chief Pat Gilroy and Cheltenham Festival champion trainer, Willie Mullins are in the mix for the inaugural manager of the year award.

Trap won the Philips Manager of the Year award yesterday.

The winners of the RTÉ prizes will be selected by Donnybrook sports journalists, editorial staff and broadcasters.

But who do you think should win the big one, sports person of the year?

Poll Results:

Katie Taylor (483)
Sean O’Brien (367)
Rory McIlroy (207)
Darren Clarke (145)
Michael Fennelly (106)
Alan Brogan (90)
Robbie Keane (79)
Other (45)
Kevin O’Brien (44)
John Joe Nevin (26)

TheScore.ie’s sporting Advent calendar, day 8

Hanson takes early lead in Dubai World Championship

About the author:

Read next: